Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 03:26 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default MCP655 power

Is one MCP655 powerful enough to pump through 1 MCR220, 1MCR 320, 2*EK GPU blocks and 1 Apogee GT block?

Seems like a powerful enough pump but I could do with some enthusiast opinions.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2008, 11:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch
Is one MCP655 powerful enough to pump through 1 MCR220, 1MCR 320, 2*EK GPU blocks and 1 Apogee GT block?

Seems like a powerful enough pump but I could do with some enthusiast opinions.
get the vario version of D5

yes but need to use a res in loop to feed that pump

D5: 3.1m head with 1200lph
D5 vario: 3.5m head with 1200lph

what size of tubing will be using?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 01:05 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Seriously, those EK GPU blocks are brutal for flow restriction, just like the EK Supreme CPU block. Yeah, the pump will probably manage, the blocks are good, but your flow is going to be hurting. If you're running two GPU's, you might be better off running MCW60 or Fuzion GPU blocks instead.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 07:54 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I agree with MpG, it's going to be brutal with the 2 EK GPU blocks. You are better off splitting the loop in two and toss a extra pump. If not, get the MCW60 or Fuzion GPU v2 (note the v2, the v1 is also brutal in terms of flowrate).
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 08:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

MpG, how about running 1 EK GPU block and an Apogee GT with a MCP655, would it also restrict flow or am I going to be fine, I am looking to upgrade the cpu block (either before I build the loop) or sometime coming soon..

Thanks.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 08:37 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Sorry for threadjacking but I was going to get the EK full cover waterblock for my 9600 GT. From the general censes it looks like the Switftech block is better. My only question is what ram sinks should I get for my ram and mosfets and how many packs. As well what is the best thermal tape to use?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 08:49 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Balistx Id recommend the copper enzotech ramsinks as they come with a good sticky thermal pad and are of high quality.

As for the EK blocks, Blackice has assured me hes shipped the pump I bought at his FS thread so I should have the extra MCP655 pumps by next week- =one for the GPU loop and one for the cpu loop.

I think an MCP655 will be fine for 1 rad, an EK GPU block and a cpu for anyone looking at that.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 08:56 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I used MCP 655 for dtek fusion, blackops block, 2x3870x2 blocks, Maze4gpu, swiffy 2x120 rad, BIP120, and BIX360, both with t-line and res...takes forever to bleed sucha loop with a t-line! end flow put out about 2-3 litres per minute, probalby dropped flow by about 2/3rds.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 09:02 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Cadavea what were your temps like? As long as you've got half decent flow temps itshouldn't be too bad? I need to read up on this though as MPG and Xilicon werent impressed with the idea of multi blocks and rads with a res with one MCP655--
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 09:10 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yeah, I wasn't much impressed either...I got almost 10c lower on everything when I split the loops to cpu/chipset, vgas/physx. It WILL work, but no, it is NOT ideal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes