Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 02:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default EK Water Block



I have a question people, trying to install the EK 4870 block, now the pictures on the instruction paper given is not all that clear. I applied AS5 (I don't have ceramique, didn't remember to get it :( ).. so applied thermal compound on the ones marked, where else should I applying thermal paste.

Also they gave thermal pads and to be applied on these:



Now on the longer black chips they asked to put thicker 1,5mm thermal pad and on the one after that they say apply thinner 0,5mm thermal pad.. what I'm confused about is there is only 1 full piece of one size of pad, then thinner and thicker.

Need help please
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 04:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

edit added some more pics.. That is the thickness and size of the thermal pad, and that black thing is what covers up those black chips in the second image above ^^ (voltage regulator chips)




Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 08:44 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

I have to head out today, but tonight I'll open the second block package (since it hasn't left yet) to see what you're talking about.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 10:16 AM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post


I have a question people, trying to install the EK 4870 block, now the pictures on the instruction paper given is not all that clear. I applied AS5 (I don't have ceramique, didn't remember to get it :( ).. so applied thermal compound on the ones marked, where else should I applying thermal paste.

Also they gave thermal pads and to be applied on these:



Now on the longer black chips they asked to put thicker 1,5mm thermal pad and on the one after that they say apply thinner 0,5mm thermal pad.. what I'm confused about is there is only 1 full piece of one size of pad, then thinner and thicker.

Need help please
My guess is they want you to cut the pad accordingly.
Thats what i had to do with my 3870X2 EK block.

There should be a template on what sizes to cut it on the instructions paper.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 12:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Hi Apollo, there was no template, it just showed the picture with those 2 sets of chips I circled and said apply 1,5mm thermal pad and on higher chips and thinner 0,5mm thermal pad on the shorter chips.. (and they were commas, not dots in the manual)..

Thanks Charlie, that will be nice of you..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 12:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Hi Apollo, there was no template, it just showed the picture with those 2 sets of chips I circled and said apply 1,5mm thermal pad and on higher chips and thinner 0,5mm thermal pad on the shorter chips.. (and they were commas, not dots in the manual)..

Thanks Charlie, that will be nice of you..
Its commas due to the instructions being in engrish.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 08:46 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

I did check out the other block and there is only 1 pad included, the 0.5mm thick.

First, if you look at the installation sheet, they show a 1.5mm and a 0.5mm pad installation; now there is a second small sheet revising the pad thickness to 0.5mm everywhere.

And I can confirm that the included pad is 0.5mm thick, using my electronic caliper (0.40mm, actually). Just remember to remove both transparent protective covers on the pad.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 09:51 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

You'll probably need to cut it and stack the pieces in a sandwich to get the right thickness if 0.5 doesn't make good contact You don't want VRM to overheat.

Hopefully there's enough pad there with some careful snipping.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 11:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Thanks Guys, quick question.. Do I apply small pieces on each one or a whole strip to cover up a couple. And Charlie your right, I almost totally forgot about what small paper.

You = Charlie = Great = Good friend :P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 04:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

Small pieces, no bigger than the MOSfet.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes