Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 08:27 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 773

My System Specs

Default How big of a rad do I really need?

I want to watercool my Q6600 and my 3870 just so I can enjoy silence again since my computer is in my TV room.

Is a single 120mm rad sufficient? Should I look into a 2X120mm sized rad?

I do game, I dont overclock, it's stricly for the quiet part and I feel like screwing around with this that I am looking into watercooling. This would be my first watercooling kit. I do bring my rig sometimes to LAN parties too.

I dont plan on upgrading my computer for a while too(1 year at least).

Thanks for any recommendations.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 08:27 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 773

My System Specs

Default

I was looking mainly at this BTW. Not from this shop but this kit + that cooler.

Single
Swiftech H20-120 Compact 3/8IN Single 120MM CPU Liquid Cooling Kit - DirectCanada
Double
Swiftech H20-220 Compact 3/8IN Dual 120MM CPU Liquid Cooling Kit - DirectCanada
VGA Block
Zalman ZM-GWB3850/3870 3850 3870 GPU Waterblock - DirectCanada
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 08:41 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 745

My System Specs

Default

I used the H20-120 on my FX-60 and it was barely able to cool just the cpu. I had to upgrade the rad to get sufficient cooling out of it. I now use the H20-120 with the theromchill 120.1 rad and a noctua fan on my 8400 and it does a good (but not great) job of cooling the cpu alone and is quiet. I have a second loop for the video card and NB. I don't think a H20-120 would do a good job on the CPU and video card. Go for the H20-220 if you are going to do both and switch the fans to noctua to go quiet. The rad in the 220 is what I am using to cool my 2900XT and the NB and it does a good job and considering the 2900XT is a 150-160watt GPU then I would say the rad can handle your videocard and CPU.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 09:59 AM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

You definetly want a 2x120. Look at the Swiftech 220 rad. Cheap and will do you just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 10:19 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

swiftech 220 is a great rad. Keeps my 8600 cool when under load.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:03 AM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

Even the 320 is quite cheap (compared to the overpriced PA120.3) and will give you little better performance if you can fit it. Also room for expansion later.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:04 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

I use one to cool my Fx 60 and 2 1900's in crossfire no problem. does a great job.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:33 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

320 will be more than enough, and even more room to expand. For $50, why not.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 02:14 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I have the 220 on my q6600 + 4850 all overvolted and overclocked. Works perfect. In fact while I was testing the 4850 I just had the cpu wb attached and the cpu was no cooler without the gpu in the loop.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 03:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 240
Default

the VGA is aluminium...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes