Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 11:05 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default HD 4870 X2 Watercooling

I've had about enough of this hot, loud spaceheater, and it seems I can now do something about it. I've never bothered with watercooling before as I was always able to get decent temperatures on air without much noise so I'm not entirely sure where to start. My plan at this point is to only have the card itself being watercooled. My case doesn't really have any room inside for a pump, rad or reservoir, but it does have the punch out points to run the tubing through from the back. Can somebody point me to what I should be looking at? I'm thinking a rad with single 120mm would be enough, and I'd like to have the res. and pump packaged somewhat.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:00 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Here's what I'm thinking now.

I've got an old APC UPS case sitting here, the UPS itself sacrificed itself several years ago. I'm thinking this would be the perfect place to have the RAD, Pump Res. and whatever else I needed that just won't fit in my case. I can either mount the rad to the outside of the case and maybe find a snazzy shroud for it or maybe even tuck it inside and cut out some fans holes, which would probably be pain as it's somewhat heavy gauge steel. I'm also now thinking about overdoing things, so I can add on in the future. The UPS case is big enough that a triple fan ran would fit.

First dumb question. 1/2" barbs, 5/8" tubing right?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Here's what I'm thinking now.

I've got an old APC UPS case sitting here, the UPS itself sacrificed itself several years ago. I'm thinking this would be the perfect place to have the RAD, Pump Res. and whatever else I needed that just won't fit in my case. I can either mount the rad to the outside of the case and maybe find a snazzy shroud for it or maybe even tuck it inside and cut out some fans holes, which would probably be pain as it's somewhat heavy gauge steel. I'm also now thinking about overdoing things, so I can add on in the future. The UPS case is big enough that a triple fan ran would fit.

First dumb question. 1/2" barbs, 5/8" tubing right?
1/2" barbs = 1/2" ID 5/8" OD (or a lot of folks use 7/16" ID)

Have a look at this pump.......

NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech MCP355 High Performance 12V Industrial Water Cooling Pump 3/8IN Barbs - MCP355 In Canada.

It's got quite a small footprint, and should fit fine in almost any case rather than trying to come up with an external setup.

Pair that with one of the swiftech combo res/rads....

NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech MCR220-QP-RES Quiet Power Dual 120MM Water Cooling Radiator & Integrated Reservoir G1/4 - MCR220-QP-Res In Canada.

and a radbox.....

NCIX.com - Buy Swiftech MCB-120 Radbox Revision 2 Black - MCB-120 In Canada.

Make a note however that the pump I linked to uses 3/8" ID tubing.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:10 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

For 1/2" barbs, you can use 1/2" or 7/16" tubing.

1/2" tubing is 3/4" outside diameter, 7/16" tubing is 5/8" OD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:28 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Is everything going in THIS setup?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:39 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Is everything going in THIS setup?

In or on, I've added another HD since then.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 02:51 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

How about a setup like this?
Attachment 2911
Use a Swiftech MCP350/355 pump in stock form, with a little foam underneath to handle vibration. Use a radbox to hang a double rad/res off the back, and the components should clear what's there fairly well. If you use 3/8" tubing (minimal performance loss), it will usually fit through an empty expansion slot, eliminating the need for any drilling. Otherwise, two quick holes will let you run 7/16" or 1/2" tubing just fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133

Last edited by MpG; January 3, 2014 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 03:09 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

That would work, I have 4 punch out holes that appear to be 3/8" down in that lower left corner. Self contained would probably be better for LAN's hmmmmmm.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 03:21 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Im going to use 2xmcw60s from swiftech, had to make a few trips to the hardware store to find the right screws, but i get em! :)
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 03:27 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Do the MCW60's fit on the 4870X2? I thought it used the same mounting hole spacing as the 3870X2, which are slightly too small.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes