Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11, 2008, 08:43 AM
Rookie

Default Effect of Pump on Temps

Hi,

I've been watercooling for several months now, and when I compare my temperatures to high-end air-cooling, I don't feel fully satisfied (except when I look at the neatness of watercooling vs. having fans everywhere). The reason is that my temperatures seem to be quite high for my CPU.

This is my loop:
pump --> 360mm rad --> Q6600 @ 3.2ghz (Swiftech Storm Block) --> 240mm rad --> 8800gtx (Dangerden Block) --> 8800 gtx (Dangerden Block) -->

These are my specs:
Q6600
EVGA 780i
OCZ PC2-8500 4x 1GB w/ OCZ memory cooler
2x 8800GTX in SLI
Vista Ultimate 64-Bit

The addition of the 240mm rad was pretty new (I got it for cheap, thought I'd try it out) but didn't really add any benefits to the temps. And my GPUs are pretty chilly at 40C-45C (I like this).

Now, my CPU is running at low 60s - low 70s on full load, with only 1.34V being put into it. I've suspected that the contact between the heatsink and the CPU might've been the culprit... always trying to tighten the bolts and press down on the Storm block, but the Storm is nice and flat, and I lapped my Q6600 (the lap is nice and flat) as well.... applying thermal paste isn't an issue either, it's been placed pretty evenly, thinly, and well.

The only thing I can think of is that the pump may not be up-to-par. It's a 12V one but only about 600L/h. I just wanted to know if the pump may have any effect on the high temps of my CPU. Would getting a better pump reduce my temps? I can get 3.6ghz with <1.5V on the CPU but the temps just go too high to make it feasible. Please give me your input, thanks!
Old September 11, 2008, 09:00 AM
Hall Of Fame