Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 07:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's the new single side wing fold design for fitting on the new aircraft carriers we're getting....... :)
LOL SWEET!!!
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 08:03 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's the new single side wing fold design for fitting on the new aircraft carriers we're getting....... :)
If Canada gets another aircraft carrier for some reason...I quit. The Bonaventure was a huge enough drain on our resources back in the day.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 08:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,420

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
If Canada gets another aircraft carrier for some reason...I quit. The Bonaventure was a huge enough drain on our resources back in the day.
I doubt very much that we'll ever have another fixed wing aircraft carrier. Much longer effective aircraft range, and the use of air-to-air refueling makes the use of a FOB (forward operating base) viable for all but worst case scenarios.

That said... I expect to see us pick up a few large rotary wing / troop carrier transports sometime in the next 10 years (or whenever they decide to replace the current aging fleet of replenishment ships).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 11:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

like the osprey? i've got an osprey in my flight sim. THOSE ARE FREEKIN COOL.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 11:02 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

This has gone a bit off-topic.

Did the solution for the power connectors work?
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 11:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I was going to post in here about that but i forgot ;X I'm at work right now, for another week or so (job ended up being ALOT longer than planned). About 2 days before i'm due home i'm going to order the third gx2 and try the mod. If the mod doesnt work and i cant get it running, i'll sell it to my cousin who is saving up for a graphic card right now, so it wont go to waste.

on that note... to save a thread elsewhere, will the SLI mode of a gx2 work on an intel chipset? (cousin has an intel chipset and reaaaaaly wants a gx2)

(edit)
i've changed all those pesky "gsx" to "gx2" ... got gsx on the mind for some crazy reason... meby it rymes better.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0

Last edited by tzetsin; September 6, 2008 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 11:16 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

Yes it will. Just not two of the cards.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2008, 01:05 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Not too many people know this; are you in the aerospace business too?
Nope, just read alot...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 08:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I'm just about to order the card, but i got to thinking that i probly dont have enough 6 pin plugs. I'm looking for an adaptor and all i can find at ncix is a single molex to six pin, now, i've seen these adaptors before, but they are usually TWO molex to 1 six pin. I'm sure that a single molex to six will work, or they wouldnt be selling it but i plan to mod one of those six pin to an 8 pin and im thinking that a single molex isnt going to be enough power for the 8 pin. a total of two molex connectors to run a dual graphics card? i've got my doubts. NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.

BTW, none of my graphics cards ever came with a molex -> pcie adaptor.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 08:08 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

You'd better wait and see the impact of the new WUs on th GPU client when using nVidia cards...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes