Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 08:27 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default card needed for tv only

need a video card for use with a 720p tv will be playing vids from torrent files ( tv shows that kinda thing,no hi def content,no gaming ability necessary) not refering to a tuner card ether ,HDMI needed I guess? just somethin that'll give great picture,recommendation?
thanks

Last edited by Jim; September 2, 2008 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:25 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

I was in this same boat a while ago and I decided to change the mobo instead.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
So far the onboard video with hdmi out has been great !

Nice thing about the P5N-EM HDMI is it's matx so I was able to build a smaller system, price payed 70$.

I did find that you need to use Vista if you want sound over the hdmi however.

I used a celeron 420 which I overclocked to 2.4 ghz and 1GB of ram.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 02:58 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Any of the ati hd series 2400 up. I ran the 2400 pro for a while but wanted to game a liitle so I switched to a 3850. Both ran well ...3850 allows some gaming.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:22 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

hey thanks guys,great info
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:02 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,871

My System Specs

Default

HD3450 would do fine probably. Fairly cheap and there's passive versions as well.

Though I'd hold out for the upcoming low-end HD4xxx series cards. They apparently perform very well for their cost.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:42 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
HD3450 would do fine probably. Fairly cheap and there's passive versions as well.

Though I'd hold out for the upcoming low-end HD4xxx series cards. They apparently perform very well for their cost.
cool thanks for the tip,will look into em, seems ati's got the edge in this application,yes ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes