Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:46 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
I've read that they will be releasing a new driver that allows SLI with multi-monitor support.
Thats suppost to be the 180.xx drivers if I am correct, think it will be awhile yet before we see them even in beta. But yeah multimonitor support with SLI, took them long enough IMO.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 07:26 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I'm pretty sure that the DRM in Vista keeps you from running multiple display drivers at the same time. You might be able to get away with two cards from the same company, though.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 09:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

if you really wanted to game while using multiple monitors you could always go full out and get one of these

Matrox Graphics - Home

i've got one with 3, 22" samsung monitors, gaming is phenominal on it, and you can use it in conjunction with SLI (which i would recomend doing anyway due to the extreem resolutions this thing runs)

kinda pricy, but worth every penny!
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 12:16 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

The 180's are "supposed" to be out in the fall according to rumours.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:22 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

The issue I'm having with it is that...I have to disable SLI in Nvidia Control panel in order to enable multi monitors. I don't think I will get that option once I put in another card other than a 9800GX2, therefore I will be stuck with disabled SLi on the 9800GX2..I think
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes