Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 06:34 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Will be calling them today to ask . If there is an issue or I don't like what they're saying about I'll probably be returning it (Thanks @ NCIX ExpressRMA). But which brand to get instead? Visiontek was the only one AFAIK with a lifetime warranty...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 06:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Will be calling them today to ask . If there is an issue or I don't like what they're saying about I'll probably be returning it (Thanks @ NCIX ExpressRMA). But which brand to get instead? Visiontek was the only one AFAIK with a lifetime warranty...
I'm not sure man... maybe try another one of the same brand...
__________________
Lapped Intel Qx6850 @ 3.7 Ghz @ 1.4 volts
Coolit freezone elite
Asus Rampage Formula
8 Gig Gskill pc2 8000 4x2gig
HIS HD4870X2
BenQ V2400W monitor
Pc power and cooling quad 750
Cooler Master Stacker 830

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 08:41 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
@CraigHf & Dr_BenD_over: Which brands of 4870X2 do you have? I'm still not convinced that I should "just get used" to this sound because it is a very loud sound that can be clearly heard (at least by me) over the 10x-12x fans in my system...
Diamond
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 09:04 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

According to VisionTek's customer support rep.:
Visiontek Rep = "Our cards shouldn't make any kind of electrical noise like that. Did you check see if something was wrong with the fan?"
Me = "Yes, I slowed and stopped the fan gently and it still made the noise when under heavy GPU load."
VisionTek rep = "The noise isn't normal, I'd recommend you return the video card or ask for an exchange."

.... Well that's that. Looks like NCIX will be getting a call from me now also, le sigh.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 03:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
According to VisionTek's customer support rep.:
Visiontek Rep = "Our cards shouldn't make any kind of electrical noise like that. Did you check see if something was wrong with the fan?"
Me = "Yes, I slowed and stopped the fan gently and it still made the noise when under heavy GPU load."
VisionTek rep = "The noise isn't normal, I'd recommend you return the video card or ask for an exchange."

.... Well that's that. Looks like NCIX will be getting a call from me now also, le sigh.
Well...I know it's a pain in the butt when you have to RMA something you were excited to get, but still, that's kind of a good news isn't it !?
__________________
Lapped Intel Qx6850 @ 3.7 Ghz @ 1.4 volts
Coolit freezone elite
Asus Rampage Formula
8 Gig Gskill pc2 8000 4x2gig
HIS HD4870X2
BenQ V2400W monitor
Pc power and cooling quad 750
Cooler Master Stacker 830

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2008, 03:06 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Edit2: The strange constant noise seems to be fading (the fan breaking itself in on the 4870x2?) but the screech/whine/whatever electrical noise is still there when starting a benchmark.... Any insight from ANYONE would be appreciated at this point. I'm hating this...

PPS: 12k in 3DM06 @ 1680x1050
11.3k in 3DM05 @ 1680x1060 + 8xAA/16xAF .... Yup, this is the card alright, laughing at AA and AF and barely taking a hit in the score. Now if only it didn't make weird noises and get super-bottlenecked I'd be happy.

So I'm redoing my benches since my PSU can now handle my Q6600 @ 3.6 and I hear while running '06

HDR1 Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzep
HDR2 Bdeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee p

__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2008, 06:29 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

ah HA! I'm not alone! Thank god, I thought I was going crazy.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2008, 09:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Not understang why you do only 11K with 2 8800GTS, I do 16K with only one ...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:58 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sectorz View Post
Not understang why you do only 11K with 2 8800GTS, I do 16K with only one ...
What about the rest of the your hardware? At stock settings, a considerable portion of 3DMark06's score comes from the CPU (common complaint), and quad-cores offer a noticeable boost over dual-cores.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 09:22 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

From what I understand (from doing some heavy research on bottlenecking) the three biggest causes of my problems are #1 - The chipset (590a - Not that fast, not that great bandwidth), #2 the RAM (4x1Gigs sticks running through a 1000mhz HTT is not as fast as 2x2Gigs would be running through a newer HTT with more bandwidth) and #3 the processor (Windsor Architecture is getting old).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes