Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 04:30 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default 3870 Crossfire

I have a Sapphire 3870 and I was wondering if it would be better to buy a second one and run in crossfire or buy a 4850 and eventually get another and run them together.

I can't really find any reviews comparing the two card's crossfire performance to figure out price/performance, but I will keep looking.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 05:32 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I found this -> LostCircuits, Video Guide

I guess depending on the price and what games you play you could get another 3870. You'll also be able to get your moneys worth from your current 3870. I'd say if you decide to go with 3870's in crossfire, try to find a used one for around $100 or so. Otherwise bend over, get out the lube, and sell it off to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 05:42 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Crossfired HD3870's are still a pretty decent setup if you have a good motherboard. What would they be running on?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2008, 12:14 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

not sure my current board is sli but i'm trying to sell most of my parts and upgrade. Would probably be a maximus formula or if i go really crazy a rampage formula.

I also currently have a corsair HX520 so would i need to upgrade power supply as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2008, 07:23 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

SLI = nVidia. ATI = Crossfire.

What do you currently have for a motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 12:49 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

I know sli is nvidia, thats one of the reasons why I want to upgrade.

I have a M2N32-SLI Deluxe but If I do manage to sell my stuff I may get a maximus or rampage formula.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 06:14 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Ah I see. I misunderstood your other post.

Ever consider getting an AM2+ board for CF? You could carry over your current CPU and RAM which will save you some cash for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes