Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 05:44 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default 4870x2 , psu requirements

just wondering if my psu will cut be enough for this video card ?

Last edited by Jim; August 17, 2008 at 04:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 06:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 170
Default

yes it will corsair psu are made my seasonic...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2008, 11:07 PM
darksideleader's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 124
Default

yep, may i ask what size monitor you have?
__________________
My new baby
Intel Core i7-3820 - Asus Rampage IV Gene x79 - Corsair H60 - Kingston HyperX 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Kingston SSDNOW V+200 120GB - Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB
HIS Radeon HD 7970 - ASUS VW266 25.5" 1920x1200 LCD
Silverstone TJ08B-E -
Corsair TX750V2
Windows 7 Home Premium x64

Ducky Keyboard DK9008
Logitech G500
Razor Vespula

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2008, 11:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
yep, may i ask what size monitor you have?
Now what's a power supply to do with a monitor.

I'd say a good 750W PSU should be able to handle, or you could get a 1000w just to be future proof. I guess SKYMTL on his recent review of 4870X2 used a 1000w Corsair.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2008, 11:40 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Plenty of room with HX620. But not your PSU will holding you back, CPU will do.
And about resolution if he don't have a 24" or more this VGA is a waste of money.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 06:08 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

woot woot i love my 1000hx
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 06:41 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

Your PSU should be sufficient enough. However, like what others said, your CPU will be bottlenecking the card.

Also, like the others asked, what resolution do you game at? If you're going to pick up a 4870X2 but game at only 16X10, then that's a waste.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 04:25 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

sorry guys been away from the forms for a week(work) anyway I plan on a 24" screen 6 months down the road,hows my cpu a bottleneck it's @ 3.3 ? , current monitor only does 1280x1024 wanted to buy a vid card with longer life span ( in terms of useability)

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 04:46 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

My E3110 @ 3.96 GHz still holds my HD 4870 back in some applications @ 1920x1080 ...

3.3 GHz is definitely going to be a bottleneck in games that make heavy use of the CPU like RTSs or physics-heavy FPSs ...

As for PSU requirements, I'd say a high-quality 620W like you have will probably be fine, although it's borderline. My medium-quality 900W PSU still drops down to 11.65V (12.06V idle) under full load w/ my HD 4870 ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 05:11 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmac View Post
My E3110 @ 3.96 GHz still holds my HD 4870 back in some applications @ 1920x1080 ...

3.3 GHz is definitely going to be a bottleneck in games that make heavy use of the CPU like RTSs or physics-heavy FPSs ...

As for PSU requirements, I'd say a high-quality 620W like you have will probably be fine, although it's borderline. My medium-quality 900W PSU still drops down to 11.65V (12.06V idle) under full load w/ my HD 4870 ...
wow thats informative,only have 2 games in mind cod4 & cod world at war, available upgarde budget is about $700 cnd , since my crt monitor only goes to 1280x1024 guess i could get the x2 now , run it as best i can and get a e8600 later(which i understand hit 4gig easy) least thats one idea
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes