Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 04:49 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default can i do this?

If i have a dual or tri sli supporting mobo can i use two 9800gx2 sli'ed? Will it take advantage of the 4 gpu's?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 06:03 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Apparently SLI 9800GX2's is not too good, actually worse in some games. I just use 1 and it is more than enough power for modern games.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 06:23 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

aww but you can get 50fps on crisis on very high
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 06:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 144
Default Reply

I'd just get a GTX260 or a GTX280. Both have more overclocking potential. But yes, it's possible to have Quad SLi. Also you could consider an ATi HD4870.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 06:46 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

i am not a big overclocker even though i am planning on getting an old computer to overclock (as my first project)

Last edited by andynerd; August 1, 2008 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 07:33 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

If you have a 30" LCD with 2650X1600 resolution or higher you could run Quad SLI, otherwise it is senseless, especially if you're not overclocking the CPU to the max.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 07:35 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

how i still get increased performance and the graphics card should be good for another 4,5 years with new drivers (not saying by the end of 5 years i will be able to play the best games pfft ya right :P)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 08:11 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

4850 and overclock the SNOT out of it LOL.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 08:20 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

lol :P hmm well maybe i will use my old computer overclock the P4 from 2.4 ghz to 4 ghz and get a card and over clock the hell out of the ENTIRE THING
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 09:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
how i still get increased performance and the graphics card should be good for another 4,5 years with new drivers (not saying by the end of 5 years i will be able to play the best games pfft ya right :P)
In 5 years your setup will probably be equal to a GeForce 4 Ti4200-8x AGP :D

Well ok maybe not :D but there again maybe in 5 years you won't need a graphics card with your new 12 core and 80 core CPU :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes