Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 03:33 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default Call of Duty 4 Performace. A little something for you to try.

Well guys, in my recent bout of benchmarking with the steaming pile of crap that is the ATI 8.7 driver set, I THINK I found something interesting in Call of Duty 4.

I was running through a timedemo like I usually do to benchmark the game with FRAPS running in the background. Somehow, I didn't remember to turn off the Dual Video Card option in the Video Options from my frustrating journey to get some good Crossfire benchmarks. Lo and behold, I started getting AMAZING performance with a single HD4850 installed.

Scratching my head I went back and realized that I still had the dual card option enabled. I dsabled it and my frames per second took a downturn to what I was used to getting. We are talking a 10-15% increased in FPS when switching to dual card option...even with a single card installed.

Here is a screenshot of the Log file in FRAPS, 2560 x 1600 4X AA all settings High. Please note that the top is with Dual Cards turned ON and the bottom is with it turned off:



Now I am not sure if it is these wacky drivers or something else but I would like you guys to give it a try and see what you get.

So I know it isn't my timedemo, here is the how to record and play a timedemo as indicated on the COD forums:

Quote:
1. Record the demo through the console with /record [name] and /stoprecord to finish it.

2. The demos will be stored in /Call of Duty 4/main/demos

3. If you try to play back CoD4 demos directly, the game will crash. Instead, copy the demo folder into /Call of Duty 4/Mods/ModWarfare and start Call of Duty 4.

4. Once loaded, select Mods and load ModWarefare and the game will re-start with the mod loaded.

5. Then bring down the console (CTRL+Shift+ ~) and type timedemo [ demo name] and press enter to benchmark it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 03:41 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Yeah, for me I got basically the same performance, with a dual card LOL 9800GX2



__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 04:08 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Ok tried again with the longer timedemo 3oh6 made.
Attached Images
 
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 04:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Maybe it's all a conspiracy and your single card has a hidden extra GPU and running SLI built-in and you have one of those very rare cards that even AMD is not aware of :) :) :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 04:27 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

Har Har. Just tried it with a HD4870....same jump in performance.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 04:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Nice find. I have a 4850 and will try to test this out tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 07:04 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

I'm looking forward to seeing your results.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 07:22 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Ill give that a go tomorrow with 8.6 and 4870 in COD4.

Given your experience SKY with XF on 8.7 is it worth moving from 8.6 cf? Looking forward to the Xf review anyway...well hopefully not too scathing. Are you using the DFIX38 board-I know they had issues with 3870X2 but not heard anything about 2x 3870's or 4870's.

Maybe better 8.8 drivers for August will move things along otherwise the second 4870 on its way is going to have to find a new home

EDIT:Also heard about 3D to 2D issues with cf?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; July 26, 2008 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 08:54 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,839
Default

If I told you my experiences with the 8.7 in Crossfire and about what I feel about it, I would probably never see another card from ATI. Ever.

Lets just say that I have spent the last 48 hours drying to diagnose the issues with the HD4850 cards in CF since the HD4870s ran without an issue. Never seen anything like this in my life and I am sure Capt. Vortex can agree since I have shown him just the tip of the iceberg...

That explain things? :(
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 09:03 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

Aye, that'll dee. Keep up the good work, 48hrs--thats a long time though Its gonna be an interesting review-
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
That explain things? :(
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes