Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 02:06 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

EVGA
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default

supreme commander = very cool
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 02:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default

Thank you!
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 05:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default

So I just got home chucked that baby in downloaded the current drivers and BAM!! Wow what a huge differnece. COD actually runs decent now. Can't wait to tweak this baby a bit and run some benches to see what I get in comparison to my fellow geeks.

Well I will be talking with you dudes shortly.

Thanks for the pointers.

BTW, I went with the EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800 GTX 575MHZ 768MB 1.8GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDTV Out HDCP DIRECTX10 Video Card.

The extra $100.00 or so didn't makes sense which Paul Brooks at NCIX confirmed. Good ol Paul.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 05:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Cool!!!!

All of you high end vid DX10 owners are starting to make me jealous!!! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 08:02 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

A 320MB card is ridiculously memory bottlenecked with higher resolutions. Considering monitors are only getting bigger, the 320MB card is a HUGE waste of cake. GTX all the way with this arguement, although a single 640MB GTS will be more than enough for now and adding another later will be killer.

EDIT: I just noticed you had the 2407 Dell. You would have SEVERELY regretted the 320MB GTS's.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2007, 02:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default

I have been making love to my video card all night. Oh man the burns are in need of attention as this card really does get hot. LOL!! I didn't know it took 2, 6-pin PCI express power connectors, defiantly unexpected but not a problem what so ever. I have so many patches from years of messing with this stuff, plus I was/am into audio engineering so....... patches yeah patches.

Well frankly I don't want to typw anymore I want to run the shit outta this thing............. Bye

To be back soon.
CM
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2007, 04:37 PM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

I have the 8800GTS 640M (see sig.) currently running at 633Mhz CPU / 999 Mhz MEM and have been putting it through its paces for the last 6 weeks or so after moving up from a 7900 GT 256M

Do you want to really kick the shit outta that card? I have one acronym for you: S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

Just run that game with Dynamic Lighting enabled and watch the framerates plummet! I have to really scale back the resolution with DL enabled (which made the game look like ass) to have playable frame rates.

With just static lighting enabled instead of dynamic lighting I run it fine at 1600x1200 with AF and AA fully enabled in the game, but man, this card gets hot! Even with riva tuner running the fan at 100% I've hit 78C while playing this game!

F.E.A.R. (another fine acronym ) only gets the card up to 70C, but I cant run it at 1600x1200 at the AA/AF settings that I like, so I guess the memory is not getting the workout that STALKER throws at it.

The heatsink on the card cools the cpu and the memory, so that would explain the higher temps when the memory is adding to the amount of heat that the poor thing has to dissipate. I found a slot exaust fan works good at getting rid of that excess heat
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2007, 04:55 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Wow- smokin- that's a pretty high core overclock for stock cooling- have you looked at your temps at 600?

How do you adust the voltages on these GPUs- do people commonly up the voltage or just leave it alone? Does ATI tool do it automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2007, 08:57 PM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Wow- smokin- that's a pretty high core overclock for stock cooling- have you looked at your temps at 600?

How do you adust the voltages on these GPUs- do people commonly up the voltage or just leave it alone? Does ATI tool do it automatically?
I'm not quite sure what my actual temps are at 600Mhz because at that time I didn't use Riva Tuner to control my fan, and I'm pretty sure that the nvidia control panel was not turning the fan up when I was putting the GPU under load during games.

As far as voltage goes, I haven't changed any voltages in regards to video. Any change in voltages would be done in the bios - for me anyway. I don't like to change voltages on any piece of hardware from windows. I have never really looked into that possibility with this card, but given the high temperatures that have already been noted, I wouldn't turn anything up any more without more cooling power.

I'm kind of dreading the hot summer months that are just around the corner. All my temps right now are with an ambient room temperature of 18-20C. Wait until it gets 28 - 29C in here! I generally reduce any overclocks or even underclock hardware to avoid meltdowns during heatwaves. It might be time to invest in an air conditioner for the first time in my life.
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes