Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 54
Default

I have no issues at all..
Well 1 game is giving me a problem, Battlestations Midway..
It loads up fine, but the moment I get into playing mode, where I control things it freezes..
that's it, all 3DMarks work Vantage works..
All other games work, BF2/ Bioshock/ Grid..
Using 8.7's
__________________
Intel i7 920 Stock Speed
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooling Kit
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard-
1 Powercolor HD 5850 1Gig Card
6 GB Patriot Viper 1600-
Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Case
5x1TB BlackWestern Digitals -
2X PIONEER DVR-212D DVD-RW - 24" Samsung 245T LCD -
OCZ Game X Stream 600 -
WINDOWS 7 Premium 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:55 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,772
Default

Can you go through your installation process?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:15 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 54
Default

I installed Vista Ultimate 64bit..
Used only 2gig for install.
4 gig gave some issues
After install, only used 1 vcard aswell for install, only because I had only 1 at first..
then did all updates, except vcard install, I always install vcard drivers dead last..
__________________
Intel i7 920 Stock Speed
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooling Kit
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard-
1 Powercolor HD 5850 1Gig Card
6 GB Patriot Viper 1600-
Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Case
5x1TB BlackWestern Digitals -
2X PIONEER DVR-212D DVD-RW - 24" Samsung 245T LCD -
OCZ Game X Stream 600 -
WINDOWS 7 Premium 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:20 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

SKYMTL, did you do the 4870's first? And a full format before swapping in the 4850's? Perhaps there is some 4870 specific junk left over that the driver cleaners aren't aware of with these new cards.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:24 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
SKYMTL, did you do the 4870's first? And a full format before swapping in the 4850's? Perhaps there is some 4870 specific junk left over that the driver cleaners aren't aware of with these new cards.
Right down to a new Hard Drive.

There must be something I was missing. We will see tonight but I AM using 4GB...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:43 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhayman View Post
I installed Vista Ultimate 64bit..
Used only 2gig for install.
4 gig gave some issues
After install, only used 1 vcard aswell for install, only because I had only 1 at first..
then did all updates, except vcard install, I always install vcard drivers dead last..
Did you install both cards and then install the drivers or one card first, install drivers and then install the next one?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 54
Default

1 card first I only bought 1 at first till I started reading about the performance these cards have at 1920x1200 friggin awsome smokes the 9800gtx..
Less than 2 bills per card these are imop the best bargain bar none..
__________________
Intel i7 920 Stock Speed
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooling Kit
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard-
1 Powercolor HD 5850 1Gig Card
6 GB Patriot Viper 1600-
Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Case
5x1TB BlackWestern Digitals -
2X PIONEER DVR-212D DVD-RW - 24" Samsung 245T LCD -
OCZ Game X Stream 600 -
WINDOWS 7 Premium 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 54
Default

Are you refering to my motherboard, the P5E??


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Did you install both cards and then install the drivers or one card first, install drivers and then install the next one?
__________________
Intel i7 920 Stock Speed
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooling Kit
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard-
1 Powercolor HD 5850 1Gig Card
6 GB Patriot Viper 1600-
Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Case
5x1TB BlackWestern Digitals -
2X PIONEER DVR-212D DVD-RW - 24" Samsung 245T LCD -
OCZ Game X Stream 600 -
WINDOWS 7 Premium 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 12:02 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhayman View Post
Are you refering to my motherboard, the P5E??
NO, I was talking about if you installed one card first, then installed the 8.7 drivers and then installed the SECOND card without reinstalling the drivers.

For some reason it seems the 8.7 drivers will only install after I do the hokey pokey.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 12:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 54
Default

The reason I asked about my board was the e-mail response I recieved from you says..this...........Did you install both cards and then install the drivers or one card first, install drivers and then install the next one?


Anyway I installed the 8.6's first with and without crossfire..then just installed the 8.7's overtop..



Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
NO, I was talking about if you installed one card first, then installed the 8.7 drivers and then installed the SECOND card without reinstalling the drivers.

For some reason it seems the 8.7 drivers will only install after I do the hokey pokey.
__________________
Intel i7 920 Stock Speed
Corsair H50 Hydro Cooling Kit
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard-
1 Powercolor HD 5850 1Gig Card
6 GB Patriot Viper 1600-
Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Case
5x1TB BlackWestern Digitals -
2X PIONEER DVR-212D DVD-RW - 24" Samsung 245T LCD -
OCZ Game X Stream 600 -
WINDOWS 7 Premium 64BIT

Last edited by SKYMTL; July 28, 2008 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes