Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 10:26 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default Dell 30" monitor, cards?

Alright i have a Dell 30" monitor and was wondering where 2x 4870's in CF would get me.
Talking in FPS, how much would i get in Crysis for example with everything set ti high?
And lets say im using my max resolution which is 2560x1600.

Other game FPS?

Thanks all.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 10:44 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

In the AnandTech review of the 4850/4870 they include CF data for both. Most thigns go up to 2560x1600, but Crysis doesn't.

AnandTech: The Radeon HD 4850 & 4870: AMD Wins at $199 and $299

By the looks of it, everything will be playable, and some with AA as well.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 12:21 AM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Great thanks for the review!

hmmmm....No Crysis, might have to rethink 4870s in CF then.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 10:18 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

With some Graphmatica, I approximated the FPS at 2560*1600 to a bit over 30FPS. But with only 3 data points to work with, its a bit hard for it to figure out an accurate graph. In my opinion, I think CF 4870's would be enough for Crysis at 2650*1600, though you definitely wont be able to crank the AA or AF.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 11:17 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

What about 4870x2s in CF? :)
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 05:27 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Actually Crysis CAN run a 2560 x 1600. All you have to do is either add it to the command line or bring up the console in-game and manually set it to 2560 x 1600.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 06:10 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, GTX280's were designed for and are best used for such resolutions. One single powerful card is always better than trying to get 2 cards to work together properly.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 08:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

for high fps at high res with AA you'd probably have to OC the 4870's memory, but apparently that's not very hard to get 4 or 5 Ghz out of which should give you sufficient fps. The stream processors memory type and price aside, the GTX280 definitely has more longevity and other than vague promises I haven't heard anything concrete about ATI driver issues being solved.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 06:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Honestly, GTX280's were designed for and are best used for such resolutions. One single powerful card is always better than trying to get 2 cards to work together properly.
While the 280GTX handles Crysis reasonably well at 2560x1600, it is not able to pump enough frames to play with all settings set to High, I have to set Shaders to Medium to get rid of choppiness. Forget AA at that resolution.

From what I've seen in reviews, no current hardware except a three-way 280GTX SLI can handle Crysis at 2560x1600 at High, let alone Very High, not sure tri-SLI can handle AA too.

I am seriously considering ditching the 30" Dell for a good 1080p TV, 42" or 47". It will be a lot easier to for the card to turn out decent framerates and the much bigger screen would be much nicer for hi-def movies.
__________________
HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes