Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 09:49 AM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default Ati 4870 and AMD CPU Bottleneck?

After reading SKYMTL's excellent review, I was wondering if anyone knows what the bottleneck for CPU/GPU is for this card for gaming at 1600 x 1200 resolution? I will be replacing my SyncMaster 930B monitor shortly and am considering a later purchase of a 4870 GPU. I will be sticking with my AMD platform for a little while longer, but I have an opportunity to replace the aging 4600 X2 with a 6000 or 6400 X2 or even popping in a 9750 quad core to improve my current system and extend longevity of current platform. Does anyone have some advice as to performance with this hardware?? Will a quad core make any difference in performance over a dual core? A motherboard change or Intel is not an option at this time. Replies and advice would be appreciated. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 10:07 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

I don't think there will be much of an impact in all honestly. There isn't much bottleneck, IF ANY, on a stock Intel CPU. I would think that if you upgrade to a 6000 you should be more than fine. A 9750 quad is not worth it until you get the Spider Platform for the new Socket Type.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 10:33 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

There is a good article on cpu scaling that you might wanna check out at CPU scaling in games with dual & quad core processors but the one x2 they have in the test is only a 2.5ghz part.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 11:15 AM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Ogdin for the link! I wasn't sure if I needed to upgrade my cpu to ensure the video card would perform properly. It looks like just upgrading the video card will allow me to enjoy games at 1600 x 1200 with higher detail settings and I have sufficient cpu power for now.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 02:34 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

With a good AMD dual core (2.8Ghz+) you should not have any problem at that resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 04:54 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the response sky. In your opinion should I stick with the 6000 X2 / 6400 X2 choice to pair up with ATi 4750 card or does the AMD 9750 quad option offer me any benefits for gaming performance as my Asus board supports this option as well. Would appreciate your advice. Later next year I will consider replacing my mother board and ram.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 05:14 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

At this time the quad gives very little performance benefit IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 05:25 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your opinion. I'll pick up a 6000+ X2 to tide me over and add a 4870 next month or as soon as they are available.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 01:56 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Just get a 5000+ x2 Black box edition you'll get same performance, save yourself a bit of money, and it will run cooler. Just overlock it using the multiplier and with a little extra voltage and it will run as fast as a 6400+ X2. Keep the money you save and put it toward some high performance DDR800 memory.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 2.6GHZ Retail Black Box No HSF Unlocked - DirectCanada

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 3.0GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM Retail Box - DirectCanada
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 05:14 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

me and Para_Frank got his 5600+ not black edition to run @ 3.25 Ghz and we havent push it to the limit yet

those 5600 OC pretty well
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes