Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 05:28 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Damn CCC. Maxed out the allowable core speed....
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 05:48 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

dunno why but every singl ATI video card ive seen in the last year maxed out the catalyst control center core clock

my X1950Xt did it. Para_Frank and Leclerc 3850 both did it. they should put the limit a bit higher then what its actualy set at
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:01 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

I will probably max out the memory clock too.....working at 4.2Ghz and the max is 4.4Ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:01 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,930

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick question. Will my PSU handle 4870 CF (Corsair HX620W)?

Oh and plenty of other reviews maxed the overclock.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:15 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Whelp, not much more to say. I will let it run for the next hour to see if the maxed out clocks are stable. Rivatuner better come out soon with a version supporting these...
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Just a quick question. Will my PSU handle 4870 CF (Corsair HX620W)?

Oh and plenty of other reviews maxed the overclock.
it should, i'm using 600 ocz stealth with it.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:29 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Well it looks like my next upgrade just fell into my lap. Gonna order up 2 of these as soon as they are available, once the X2 drops I will just shunt one into the second gaming box I am making and then run tri-fire on my main rig.

Sky: Did you run any CF tests, and if so, did you see any of this "micro-stutter" I hear people talking about?
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:39 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckleBrother View Post
Well it looks like my next upgrade just fell into my lap. Gonna order up 2 of these as soon as they are available, once the X2 drops I will just shunt one into the second gaming box I am making and then run tri-fire on my main rig.

Sky: Did you run any CF tests, and if so, did you see any of this "micro-stutter" I hear people talking about?
I have not testd CF yet. That will be in another review but I will not touch on micro stuttering since I don't want to wade into that fray before doing the proper testing.
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 17

My System Specs

Default

Fantastic review, and what a beautiful card with respect to performance, value, and hell even good looks.
__________________
E8400 @ 4GHz on Ninja - P5K-E Rev 1.02 - 4890 @ 980MHz on Accelero S1
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 06:41 PM
ChuckleBrother's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 571

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I have not testd CF yet. That will be in another review but I will not touch on micro stuttering since I don't want to wade into that fray before doing the proper testing.

Fair enough, I've never even run a system with either CF or SLI, so I have no idea what to expect. Either way, ATI is back in the game, in a really big way.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes