Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 10:01 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

As far as I know the HD4870 cards do not come with an adaptor...though $20 is quite a bit to spend on a pair of them....
Reply With Quote
  #142 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2008, 01:23 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Bloody hell. We can't count on ATITool since development of that program seems to have seriously stagnated.
Good news.
Reply With Quote
  #143 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 11:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 82
Default

Note to all Rampage Formula users + Antec 1200 users:

Sapphire 4870 + ThermalRight HT-03 will not allow you to crossfire. The PSU mounts on the bottom and if you mount the second 4870 below on the 2nd PCIx16 slot, you will end up with roughly 4-5mm clearance between PSU fan (in my case a Corsair HX750) and whatever fan you put on the ThermalRight.

Since I'm not too critical on CF'ing the unit, I'm fine. Just not too keen that I now have blocked off 1 PCI-E x16 slot and 2 PCI-E slots. The lower PCI slot is technically useable but leaves only about 3-4mm clearance between fan and whatever card I decide to put in it. The most useable PCI slot is the one above the first PCI-E x16 slot.

Somewhat regretting the fact I slapped on the HT-03 but it was a great learning experience. Thanks SKYMTL.
__________________
| Stock Q9450 + Noctua NH-U12P Cooler | ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Corsair TX750W PSU |
| Corsair Dominator 4x2GB | 1x Sapphire HD 4870 + ThermalRight HT-03 |
| Seagate Barracuda 500GB 32MB Cache | Samsung 2253BW 22" LCD |
| Antec 1200 Case | Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit |

Last edited by Frost; July 4, 2008 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #144 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 12:15 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default

Thats ashame about the HR03 GT-I have a plus version and it takes up a lot of room with an NFP 12 fan.

Given the performance of the arctic solution in SKY's review of the 4850 I'm going to go for two of those in a crossfire rig but I still don't know if even that is possible with 120mm fans.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #145 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 12:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 82
Default

Unless your mobo spaces out the PCIx16 slots waaaaay far apart (as in across the board), you might be in the same boat as me. If you can live with the high temps, stick with the stock cooling solution but with MX-2.

I personally used Noctua HT-01 thermal grease. It's supposed to be a tad bit better than MX-2 plus I got it free with the CPU cooler.

My room is quite warm so I had to modify the 4870 to make sure it lost as much heat as quickly as possible to dissipate it into the room rather than have it steaming at 80+ and heating up my room even faster. The Antec 1200 should be able to create a mini wind tunnel for the cooling so I should be good.
__________________
| Stock Q9450 + Noctua NH-U12P Cooler | ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Corsair TX750W PSU |
| Corsair Dominator 4x2GB | 1x Sapphire HD 4870 + ThermalRight HT-03 |
| Seagate Barracuda 500GB 32MB Cache | Samsung 2253BW 22" LCD |
| Antec 1200 Case | Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit |
Reply With Quote
  #146 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 02:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default

First Post!

New here. I am an ol timer from Rage and a lurker/fan here.

Question.

I just aquired an HIS 4870. It's great BTW. My experiences with the card mirror those of review sites everywhere. Great bang for buck.

That said... The review states 55c at idle.

Mine sits at 80c. Yes I have slow airflow and it is under a desk with poor airflow in a room that is already at 25c Ambient temps.

But how are you getting 55c? Even with the cover off and a fan blowing at it I might drop to low 70's?

What I am doing wrong? Or is CCC's Overdrive page innacurate?

Great site BTW!

C.
Reply With Quote
  #147 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 02:54 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Welcome, cvearl!

Check this thread out, you can modify your fan profile very easily resulting in (sometimes) large decreases in idle temps.

How to change fan speed for 4800
Reply With Quote
  #148 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 03:10 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

First of all about the HR-03 GT not fitting. Have you tried this:

Ultimate CPU Cooling Solutions! USA

Basically a wrap-around configuration.

NEXT!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvearl View Post
First Post!
That said... The review states 55c at idle.

Mine sits at 80c. Yes I have slow airflow and it is under a desk with poor airflow in a room that is already at 25c Ambient temps.

But how are you getting 55c? Even with the cover off and a fan blowing at it I might drop to low 70's?

What I am doing wrong? Or is CCC's Overdrive page innacurate?

Great site BTW!
Thanks for the compliment and welcome!!

This is actually a very interesting question since I have seen a few people say that their cards idled at high temperatures and others have around my temps. There is another option to see your GPU temp right now and that is with GPU-Z. In GPU-Z you can click on the "Sensors" tab to get temperature readings that refresh a little more frequntly than CCC. They both read from the same sensor so the temperatures should be the same but I prefer the GPU-Z method for now.

What are your load temperatures? To find this out, simply download ATITool and let the spinning box spin for about 10 minutes while keeping your eye on the GPU-Z sensor readout. I would love to know what your temperatures are under load.

I will pop in my other HD4870 tonight since I have a funny feeling that the TIM application or copper base isn't consistent on these cards.
Reply With Quote
  #149 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 03:15 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I will pop in my other HD4870 tonight since I have a funny feeling that the TIM application or copper base isn't consistent on these cards.
I'm so jealous. You've got 2 to play with. Want to share?
Reply With Quote
  #150 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 05:29 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

Well I got my new 4870's today but am only running one for now till I get a new PSU.

Anyways I am very happy so far.

Crysis - High 8x AA 1920 x 1200 AVG FPS 15 (I know I should try realistic settings)
Counter Strike Source MAX 8 x AA 1920 x 1200 AVG 218 FPS
Lost Coast Max 6 x AA 1920 x 1200 AVG 150 FPS
World in Conflict everything max 4 x AA 16 x AF 1920 x 1200 AVG 39 FPS Min 20 FPS Max 75 FPS (AVG a little low but still very playable and looks very nice)

All these were in XP. So I might go and test some more games but I am very happy. Can hardly wait for CF but my PSU doesn't have enough PCIe cables or molex cables.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes