Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 04:04 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post


The reason is not fully known but it seems to affect people who have flashed the BIOS and those who have pushed for high clocks in the CCC.
Apparently all is well, the bios these poor saps were downloading was also corrupt.

Thus, everbody was getting nowwhere fast. A fixed bios has been made available and appears to work
4870 go'in back on the short list
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 04:59 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Bah....now to try to undue the damage that has been done...
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 10:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
See? This is exactly why the card's "BIOS" is much better referred to as a ROM or something. People get confused.
Phew, for a second there SKTMTL had me scared until I remembered the GPU firmware / BIOS / ROM / whatever instruction set was also called the BIOS.

I never intended to flash the GPU so I'm good there.
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 11:52 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
No, but there are plenty of people with the "me too" thought who now have bricked cards.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Bah....now to try to undue the damage that has been done...
Here you go man. Nothing to worry about. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 06:25 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Thanks Burebista. Luckily, I didn't brick any cards. Been too busy with other reviews to worry about flashing just about anything...
Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 09:17 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

That was a great review! You sure spent time on it!

I'm happy I didn't buy the 4870. It's not FASTER ENOUGH than the 4850 given the $120 extra price tag.

Dual 4850 cards is the way to go!
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 10:35 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
That was a great review! You sure spent time on it!
if only you knew...

very nice work on another excellent review from the hardest working man in show business...err, is this considered show business? we are in the business of showing things
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 12:09 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
if only you knew...

very nice work on another excellent review from the hardest working man in show business...err, is this considered show business? we are in the business of showing things
Thatís a different type of hardware their showing thou 3oh6Ö..
Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 03:50 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Ncix just got a shipment of HIS 4870's So hopefully I will get them shipped before they are closed tomorrow.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 05:38 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick question. Do the 4870 cards come with 6pin to molex adapters because I would need 2 because my PSU only has 2 6pin connectors when I would need 4. So would 2 of these be good?
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...7734&sku=27102
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; June 30, 2008 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes