Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 07:23 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I am telling everyone RIGHT NOW:

DO NOT FLASH THE BIOS ON THESE CARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!
What? Did you bork a bran' spankin' new card?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 07:34 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Sounds like a cry for help!


edit: there goes the damn good award.....

Last edited by DK2; June 29, 2008 at 08:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 08:18 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Well took the plunge of the great lowering of my account balance and ordered 2 HIS radeon 4870's. Well hopefully I get them by Tuesday unless companies ship Monday.

Well NCIX says they are getting a large HIS shipment next week. Some card were available today but were gone in a few minutes. Some cards are coming in tomorrow.
Nicemoving to the maximus was a great idea. I ordered a HIS one too but doesn't seem to be much action at NCIX at the moment.

Seems like others have been getting them locally.

As for the bios flashing-id hate to be the one holding the card if it went wrong
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 09:25 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
What? Did you bork a bran' spankin' new card?
No, but there are plenty of people with the "me too" thought who now have bricked cards.
Reply With Quote
  #125 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 10:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 82
Default

Wait, what do you mean do not flash BIOS with this card? If I need to update the BIOS on my Rampage, it'll fry the card???

But... but how am I supposed to flash the BIOS?

As for whoever asked about how hard it was to mod the 4870, not very hard at all. I have the Sapphire 4870 to be clear. The stock cooling solution came off easily (except the fan power plug which was really annoying tightly in) and I noticed they overapplied thermal paste onto the heat spreader.

Oh god, now what am I supposed to do with this rig...

EDIT: Wait a second, you talking about the video card BIOS or the motherboard BIOS?

Last edited by Frost; June 29, 2008 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #126 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 11:11 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Wait, what do you mean do not flash BIOS with this card? If I need to update the BIOS on my Rampage, it'll fry the card???
See? This is exactly why the card's "BIOS" is much better referred to as a ROM or something. People get confused.
Reply With Quote
  #127 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 11:23 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frost View Post

EDIT: Wait a second, you talking about the video card BIOS or the motherboard BIOS?
Its the GPU bios but you never know there could be some bum rampage bios's floating about. Im curious to see what these guys have been up to-im assuming they are trying to break through the overcooking barrier set by the ATI overclock software.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #128 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 12:15 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

He means the bios on the vid card.

It's an extremely bad idea to alter the bios on anything

Why, the next thing you know, you'll have a ruby red brick
Reply With Quote
  #129 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 01:01 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk_d View Post
He means the bios on the vid card.

It's an extremely bad idea to alter the bios on anything

Why, the next thing you know, you'll have a ruby red brick


Truer words have never been spoken.

Here is the story:

Basically, people used a version of the RBF tool (Radeon Bios Flash) which flashed their cards without a problem but when they shut down their computer, the card would not boot anymore.

Every GPU has a BIOS which is used to determine everything from fn speed to vcore voltage. The reason people do this is to overclock their card beyond what the Catalyst Control Center's Overdrive utility allows them to.

It seems like quite a few people did this with their HD4870 cards after some people had some very positive results. Unfortunately, cards have now been going tits-up because of this. The reason is not fully known but it seems to affect people who have flashed the BIOS and those who have pushed for high clocks in the CCC.

I should note that myHD4870 with its maxed out clocks through the CCC is running fine in my gaming system for about a week now but after reading this, I have taken the safe route and clocked it back to stock.
Reply With Quote
  #130 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 02:06 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Has anybody tried to replace the EEPROM on the card yet and flash a fresh copy to the card? Has anyone tried to blind flash or use another card to boot off floppy/USB and flash or does the computer not POST when the buggered card is in?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes