Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2015, 08:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Quebec
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default 7950 Crossfire very slow load time/ boot to uefi/no windows service

Hello everyone,

See my current rig in my profile
My board is an X79-up4 bios is updated to the latest one: F7 revision.
Running windows 7 fully updated
Amd driver: Display Driver ver. 14.501.1003

Here is the problem:

I got a good deal on a second gigabyte hd 7950 rev 2.0 (exact same model and revision as I already owned)

I wanted to try crossfire for a long time but never had the chance. I tested/stressed the new card (which is gigabyte refurbished) and no issued it occed like a champ everything is fine with that card.

Installed both card in the x16/x16 configuration everything was fine. I enabled crossfire in CCC then tested in game. Result where great. I did a run (non occed) on firestrike 11000 pts. It seems fine to me.

Restarted the pc and it went straight to uefi… reloaded my settings then proceed to boot to windows. Right before login screen at the please wait screen it took more than a minute to load the entered my password and windows took and other minute to load
Windows Aero and the sound are disabled... it displays the message "Failed to connect to a Windows Service".

When I try to shutdown it just hang and never shot.



If a remove the crossfire bridge, load to windows, shut down, install Crossfire Bridge, load to windows
Everything becomes fine until the next restart or coldstart

1/3 start brings me directly to uefi

I know that the X79-up4 is not the most stable board and that it have a lot a bios issues but still I can’t make it work


I have found some people online having the same issues but no solution


I need help
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2015, 08:50 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,625
Default

It sounds like a driver issue. Did you do a complete wipe of the drivers before installing the second card?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2015, 12:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Quebec
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

nope since i figured i was already using the same exact card.

i updated them with both card installed to the latest one available on amd's web site

what bugs me is that sometimes i get post error since it goes directly to uefi at startup when both card are installed. the same has if an overclock failed. I reseted my bios setting to default after the bios update and tried it whit the same result.

i have been running at this oc with the first 7950 for around 2 years with no crash what so ever

i dont get any crash with the new card alone either
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2015, 04:07 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,625
Default

You may have unwittingly added a ton of gremlins to your system. Not uninstalling AMD drivers before installing another card has ALWAYS caused me long term issues. Here is what you should do:

- Download Driver Fusion (Free)
- Open Default Programs -> Installed Programs
- Click on AMD Catalyst Package and then Chage
- Uninstall all AMD drivers via their Express uninstall
- Run Driver Fusion driver uninstall
- Reboot
- Install latest drivers
- Pray for the best!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2015, 04:31 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

And most importantly let us know if it worked.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2015, 08:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Quebec
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

I'll try this tonight and let you guys know.

what really bugs me is the straight to bios thing.

the crossfire cable was brand new and scealed but ill try an other one I have a few laying around
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2015, 05:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Quebec
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
You may have unwittingly added a ton of gremlins to your system. Not uninstalling AMD drivers before installing another card has ALWAYS caused me long term issues. Here is what you should do:

- Download Driver Fusion (Free)
- Open Default Programs -> Installed Programs
- Click on AMD Catalyst Package and then Chage
- Uninstall all AMD drivers via their Express uninstall
- Run Driver Fusion driver uninstall
- Reboot
- Install latest drivers
- Pray for the best!

Driver Fusion | Update, manage and monitor drivers & devices | Treexy

tryed the free version... got a s**t load of bloatware.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2015, 06:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,055

My System Specs

Default

Usually free programs have bloatware but you can uncheck the boxes to prevent them from installing. At any rate, I ditched that product once it changed from Driver Sweeper to Driver Fusion.

I use Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) now.

http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

Instructions are more or less the same, except after uninstalling old drivers boot yourself into Safe Mode manually and use DDU, then restart and install new drivers. Don't run DDU unless you're in safe mode to save yourself headache.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2015, 07:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Quebec
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

some news:


re-installed the drivers. i got to windows worked but then again windows service and long boot restarted..

I'm losing the audio service after a few minutes in windows sometimes it comes back.

i re-installed all my board drivers but after 1 or 2 cold start the problems come back.


I also dial down my 3820 oc back to stock and tweaked voltage. I'm not getting the UEFI cold boot problem anymore. I suspect the oc was stable enough for one card but 2 might just takes more power and make it less stable I'll have the validate my oc back to where i were when i get those cards running well


any advice on what could make my audio service go down for like 5 minute at windows start-up and then come back on?


i get to see my digital display audio and my plantronics rig usb "mixamp" but not realtek
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2015, 08:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,639

My System Specs

Default

have you tried disabling crossfire in the software in windows and seeing if the reboot problem still happens?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
7950 , crossfire , problems , slow

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD Issue - Rather slow Boot Load Times BVickery Storage 5 July 19, 2012 03:42 PM
UEFI and Windows 8 secure boot PerryC Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 September 22, 2011 09:06 AM
Boot up time slow Prior to loading Windows Skychan CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 11, 2011 09:31 AM
Ultra slow load in game Kilauea Gaming 7 May 30, 2010 12:02 PM
Slow Vista Load time Dave510 Troubleshooting 3 May 3, 2009 02:42 PM