Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 01:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 95
Default GTX 970 Memory allocation issue

AnandTech | NVIDIA Publishes Statement on GeForce GTX 970 Memory Allocation

"For the moment with so few answers in hand we’re not going to spend too much time trying to guess what it is NVIDIA has done, but from NVIDIA’s statement it’s clear that there’s some additional investigating left to do. If nothing else, what we’ve learned today is that we know less than we thought we did, and that’s never a satisfying answer. To that end we’ll keep digging, and once we have the answers we need we’ll be back with a deeper answer on how the GTX 970’s memory subsystem works and how it influences the performance of the card."

So is hwc and skymtl planning to investigate the performance ramifications when VRAM usage goes above 3.5 GB on GTX 970. Right now a host of games cross the 3.5 GB limit at at 1440p and 4K . Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor, Call of Duty Advanced Warfare, AC Unity, Dead Rising 3 and Lords of the Fallen do it at 1440p and 4k. Watch Dogs, Farcry 4, Ryse Son of Rome do it at 4K.

The results of such an investigation will help users make an informed decision when making their 2015 GPU purchases to play next gen games like Witcher 3 and Star Citizen.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 07:22 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

It's a bit pointless to test an issue which the manufacturer is looking into until we hear from them about what the issue is and how they are going to fix it.. It may be driver / firmware only need to remedy but there could be a recall on the way too.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 08:08 AM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 286
Default

You think they knew this was an issue and just hoped no one would notice?
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 09:46 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,451

My System Specs

Default

The link provided shows that Nvidia found the same %fps between a 980 and a 970 when using >3.5vram. According to them this proves there is no issue with the setup. Unless someone does testing that disproves this I think its mostly case closed.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 09:54 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,434

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
The link provided shows that Nvidia found the same %fps between a 980 and a 970 when using >3.5vram. According to them this proves there is no issue with the setup. Unless someone does testing that disproves this I think its mostly case closed.
Yeah. Cause when a manufacturer tells you 'oh its fiiiine' you just say "Well, Case closed!"

Ive got a grreeeat bridge to sell you!

How about some independent investigation to analyse the issue and verify there isnt (or is) an issue. I like that idea much better.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 10:12 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,622
Default

I'm running tests as we speak. Truth be told, there are some things that need to be taken into account:

NVAPI has NEVER read proper memory allocations on cut down cards. This is nothing new.

NVIDIA cannot answer questions about SM allocations and ROP implementation through memory partitions in huge detail since it would directly influence the competitive landscape.

In my prelim testing in applications that consume more than 3.5GB and less than 3.5GB at 1440P (Shadows of Mordor, Crysis 3 with texture mods, Far Cry 4 and Hitman: Absolution) I have seen no indication that the GTX 970 reduces its performance more than an R9 290X, TITAN or GTX 980 when making the transition. After a few hours of testing thus far this looks to me like a tempest in a teapot.

Though it is once again interesting to see how many folks automatically jump on the conspiracy train.
__________________
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 12:04 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Yeah. Cause when a manufacturer tells you 'oh its fiiiine' you just say "Well, Case closed!"

Ive got a grreeeat bridge to sell you!

How about some independent investigation to analyse the issue and verify there isnt (or is) an issue. I like that idea much better.
I am not saying that we have to trust them, but I am saying that nvidia responded, and its much more official than the random comments that were accusing them. Never saw anything actually proving a fps drop above 3.5gb besides people freaking out.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 12:33 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Though it is once again interesting to see how many folks automatically jump on the conspiracy train.
It's the internet Sky, everything's a conspiracy, and if you're not ranting against it you're clearly part of the big pharma/illuminati/big gov't/media/global banking/Bildeberger/Van Halen secret coverup machine.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 01:04 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,622
Default

Look, once again we aren't the first on this one since I'd rather post meaningful results rather than clickbait.

I have been able to recreate the issue though but not in games.
__________________
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2015, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: GVR
Posts: 25
Default

Wouldn't there be a massive recall if Nvidia admits there is an issue with the 970s? I believe they will drag this issue as long as possible and then launch a revision.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
issue reading memory on MSI BIG BANG-Xpower x58 board Your_friendly_gamer Troubleshooting 10 July 13, 2011 07:56 AM
Patriot Memory Announces New AMD Black Edition Ready G2 Series Memory Kits Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 14, 2011 09:57 AM
Memory Issue quanttrom New Builds 22 January 11, 2011 04:48 PM
Memory allocation in Vista 64 bit oxsin O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 May 20, 2009 10:22 PM
Memory Allocation Software enaberif Troubleshooting 5 March 17, 2007 11:06 AM