Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 09:04 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Life of beta drivers :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 09:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I loaded these drivers and now I cant even get into Windows. I tried everything and all I can do about it is format and reinstall.
What are you running? It'd be nice to know just in case somebody else has a similar setup so that they can avoid the same fate. Did you by any chance have something like Riva Tuner setup to load a custom config on startup?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 09:32 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I loaded these drivers and now I cant even get into Windows. I tried everything and all I can do about it is format and reinstall.
Did you try safe mode at all to see if you could uninstall them?

I had no problems with the installation or loading windowsXP MCE SP3.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 09:31 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Here is the story. I loaded these drivers and rebooted. Windows would go as far as the loading Windows screen and then bsod in a neverending loop. I could not access safe mode bc my stupid usb keyboard would work as far as the bios then nothing on the safe mode screen. But I sawpped to ps2 and loaded last bootable config. Uninstalled the drivers and reloaded latest (non-beta) from Nvidia. All fixed.

GPU = 8600GT
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 12:13 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear that you didn't have to format I know how much of headache it can be, something that I try to avoid at all cost.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 12:16 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I run so much different hardware that formatting is no big deal, usually do it a couple times a month anyway. :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes