Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 10:07 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default Just got a GTX 770!

Just got a ASUS GTX 770, upgraded from an ATI 3870.

I can't believe the difference :)

I was about to upgrade my old Duo core E8400 but I thought I would stretch it out by getting a video card for now. I also mildly overclocked the CPU to 3.5Ghz, there's still life in this system after 7 years!

I even found my old Corsair HX620 modular baggie and found the extra PCI-E Power cable, she's still powering it all perfectly.

Running 1920x1200, this has left me to appreciate my old system.

Not playing any of the newest titles but for now I am very happy!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2014, 04:40 AM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Just did some benchmarks this morning, probably a bit dated but here we go:
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2014, 05:17 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Congrats on your purchase! And I know exactly what you mean. I've been flogging my old systems for years.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2014, 12:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515

My System Specs

Default

I say push the E8400, if you have the cooler for it, considering it's now the weakest link in the system. You'd see good gains in a lot of games the higher you go.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2014, 12:58 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
I say push the E8400, if you have the cooler for it, considering it's now the weakest link in the system. You'd see good gains in a lot of games the higher you go.
I agree. My E8400 will do 4Ghz on stock voltage. I suggest a good cheap cooler like a Hyper 212+ evo and then push that cpu!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2014, 09:48 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,010
Default

That 770 is on my radar this year for when GTAV comes out, or should i wait to see if the 780 drops any by then? Going from a 560ti.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2014, 11:45 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,125

My System Specs

Default

Nice purchase. That should last you a very long time. You are going to be CPU limited in almost all games now though, so OC more to help FPS even further. Whenever you do get around to a platform upgrade your fps should go up as well.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2014, 08:16 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Hey, Thanks for the comments!

I played with it a bit in the last week. Luckily I got BF3 free when they were offering the free download.

I guess that's an older game but it plays incredibly well, at 1920x1200 (60-100FPS). Tried it on Ultra as well.

I looked at the GPU% usage and it was hitting 99% usage, I guess that means it wasn't getting bottlenecked, at least in this game.

Great graphics thought I haven't been gaming in years and I am surprised how good they are.

Got my son playing Dirt3 and fully maxed running great. I think we liked Dirt2 more though.

I really can't find a reason to upgrade from this old Core2 at the moment.

PS. I got a 212EVO cooler for it, but having trouble overclocking higher than the 3.5. I'm using some mixed memory to 7GB perhaps thats why, but honestly I am happy enough at 3.5 for the perfect stability.

Last edited by Entilza; July 4, 2014 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2014, 10:49 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I had an E8400 Wolfsdale many yrs ago....think I was able to get stable close to or at 4 Ghz....but honestly it was so long ago I cannot remember for sure...great chip though.
Just to show the "age" of that chip I played Crysis on a evga 780i Board w Wolfsdale and Evga 8800GTX ...RAM was ..cant remember how much..I know it was Mushkin Redlines though...maybe 8 GB....
I could be mistaken, but I believe BF3 is one of the games that does take advantage of a Quad core CPU....

Welcome to the Kepler Club...enjoy ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2014, 08:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
Default

Please upgrade that CPU, it really, really doesn't let you experience the full potential of that card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes