Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 08:51 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default Video Card Questions

I have some video card choices and just curious what should be used where lol.

I have the following (also I've never setup another card just for physx do people notice a huge difference when you do that?)

I have and am unsure what to put in my machine as my "TOP CARD"

PNY 770 4GB OC (i think but it might be oc2?)
Sapphire 4GB 290
Gigabyte 770 2GB
EVGA 660
ASUS 570
560Ti 448 Core

Thanks in advance guys I'm thinking either the 290 or the PNY (currently in my machine) are my top choices but which one is best?

Then the 2nd best to my kids machine and 3rd best to wifes the other cards do I just sell or should I put in and try to do as a dedicated physx?

Thanks.
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 01:04 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 459

My System Specs

Default

Well it depends on what you're doing and what's your resolution, if it's for ultra gaming and everything you're better off with the 290.

As for the PhysX question, not a huge difference at all. Modern NVIDIA GPU integrates the PhysX without sacrificing the performance. It's a complete waste of a card if you decided to put a 2nd one in it.

2nd best in the list is the 770, which one though I have no clue.

3rd best is (besides the 2nd 770) is the 660, just a little bit more performance compare to the 570.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 04:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
Modern NVIDIA GPU integrates the PhysX without sacrificing the performance.
That is absolutely false : a performance penalty will be incurred by the card doing 2 things at once : rendering 3D and processing Physx. You should setup the most powerful card to be the display card and to do the rendering, while assigning a less powerful card to do the physx calculations. I would assign the GTX570ti448 to do that job, should be plenty enough. This is the option that you are looking for : the CUDA option in the nVidia Control Panel, you just check the card that want to do the Physx calculations.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 04:23 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 459

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
That is absolutely false : a performance penalty will be incurred by the card doing 2 things at once : rendering 3D and processing Physx. You should setup the most powerful card to be the display card and to do the rendering, while assigning a less powerful card to do the physx calculations. I would assign the GTX570ti448 to do that job, should be plenty enough. This is the option that you are looking for : the CUDA option in the nVidia Control Panel, you just check the card that want to do the Physx calculations.
Strange because I didn't have any performance impact with or without PhysX on my card, then again PhysX is a rare sight these days.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 04:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 431

My System Specs

Default

the shaders and stuff are not always busy I have many friends who have multi-gpu Nvidia setups and have tired many ways of doing different things, As long as you have a powerful card, it is near useless to worry about using another card to offload PhysX, if you have a medium to low end then using another card to offload said PhysX I can see. Depends on how powerful the card is, how much it is being used in the game in question etc, only way you will know, test it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 04:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
PhysX is a rare sight these days.
Aaa, no. Here is a list of games with Physx PhysX | GeForce
I see recent titles there like Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag, Borderlands, Batman : Arkham Origins just to name a few. I didn't say that engaging PhysX will bring the system to its knees, is just that to the question on hand, I would relegate the physx calculations to a secondary card and leave the primary one do the 3D heavy lifting and all the image processing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2014, 05:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,881

My System Specs

Default

From what I have read the benefits of running a dedicated physx card is not worth the power consumption if your main GPU is powerful enough to handle it. I have read multiple, but this video actually pretty much sums up what I have read.

Dedicated PhysX Card Experiment - How Powerful Does it Have to Be? Linus Tech Tips - YouTube
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2014, 10:52 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the input might shortly have a 2nd Sapphire 290 (8GB ram in Crossfire sounds fun) :)

With amd though say you want to play with physx can you still use a nvidia card as well?
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2014, 12:53 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 624

My System Specs

Default

Not unless that lucid logic chip wich lets you mix match never really saw it in working rig the drivers must be haywire in Highend.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2014, 07:08 AM
Ashihtaka's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 40
Default

Since you've got them, I'd say sli the 2 770's for max performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about sound card placement in relation to video card. QuiZNo Audio 5 January 18, 2012 01:58 PM
Some questions about Z68 video Lanboy CPU's and Motherboards 5 June 4, 2011 10:00 PM
More boring video card questions! technix Video Cards 1 May 20, 2010 12:12 PM