Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 08:45 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

ATM my 780 is using: cudaminer.exe -H 2 -i 0 -l auto,t9x16 -m 1
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 09:28 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 582

My System Specs

Default

I didn't realize mining was worth anything with nvidia cards.

I've got two SLI'd 780s on a i7 920@ ~ 3.5ghz at the moment. If I ran all day, how much 'real' money could I make in LTC (I know it fluctuates, but a rough idea would be nice). I've never looked at mining before, but I might be tempted to give it a try if nvidia's cards work decently with cudaminer.

Thanks gents,
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 09:54 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

Mining Litecoin would currently make you about $8 a day on 2x 780's, less power cost. 1060 kH/s Cryptocoin Mining Information, Profitability and Calculators
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 10:06 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

There's going to be a Kanye West Coin... With the recent surge of coins, keeping tabs of all these cryptocoins is a pain in the

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
I didn't realize mining was worth anything with nvidia cards.

I've got two SLI'd 780s on a i7 920@ ~ 3.5ghz at the moment. If I ran all day, how much 'real' money could I make in LTC (I know it fluctuates, but a rough idea would be nice). I've never looked at mining before, but I might be tempted to give it a try if nvidia's cards work decently with cudaminer.

Thanks gents,
You're better off mining the alternatives like Dogecoin or Catcoin then trading it for LTC. Catcoin is set to get a difficulty readjustment by forking.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 10:46 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 582

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the tips guys. The Dogecoin setup looks simpler than some of the other things I looked at this morning. I think I've got a bit of a learning curve figuring out cudaminer etc, but it's worth checking out. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 09:09 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

So what coins do people have their eyes on. CoinyeWest is making itself known with other cryptocurriencies like Doge pushing it and advertising it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
Thanks for the tips guys. The Dogecoin setup looks simpler than some of the other things I looked at this morning. I think I've got a bit of a learning curve figuring out cudaminer etc, but it's worth checking out. Much appreciated.
Mining on any coin is the same as long as they're Scrypt based imo. All I had to do was sign up for a pool, create a worker, than change the Stratum thingy.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 10:45 PM
Lord_Anubis's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 15
Default

will this be the end of crypto currency http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=396751.0 ????? Coingen Status
__________________
-Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7 FX-8350 @ 4.6 ghz 16gb ram Powercolor 6870x2
-MSI Z68A-GD80 I7 2600K @ 4.65ghz 16gb ram MSI R7870 Hawk
-Asrock Z77 OC Formula I7 3770 @ 4.1ghz 16gb ram Powercolor HD 7870 PCS+ MYST.(TAHITI LE)

HTPC XMBC - DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-DR X2 3800 2gb ram Gigabyte 8800 GT
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2014, 11:22 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Anubis View Post
will this be the end of crypto currency http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=396751.0 ????? Coingen Status
Was only a matter of time... I wonder how the market will respond to this. A lot of those coins won't succeed, especially without source. And if they're terrible, then no one will mine so there's that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 10:33 AM
sherwind2010's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada, BC
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default Viper (Scrypt) Miner (5Mh/s)

It looks like Alpha Tech is taking orders again.

Viper (Scrypt) Miner (5Mh/s) Cost maybe $2,500 CAD after all said & done.

Power consumption: <= 100w
Contains one Viper board
Enclosure : 1u Rack mountable
Self contained unit with Ethernet and USB connection
Software: Easy to use configurable WebGui for mining connectivity.
Front Panel: LCD display for easy mining configuration.


Also the Viper (Scrypt) Miner (25Mh/s) for maybe $10,000 CAD all said & done.

Power consumption: <= 600w
Contains five stacked Viper boards hashing at 5 Mh/s each or higher
Enclosure : 6u Rack mountable
Self contained unit with Ethernet and USB connection.
Software: Easy to use configurable WebGui for mining connectivity.
Front Panel: LCD display for easy mining configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 12:37 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Catcoin is forking. Go mine some CATS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherwind2010 View Post
It looks like Alpha Tech is taking orders again.

Viper (Scrypt) Miner (5Mh/s) Cost maybe $2,500 CAD after all said & done.

Power consumption: <= 100w
Contains one Viper board
Enclosure : 1u Rack mountable
Self contained unit with Ethernet and USB connection
Software: Easy to use configurable WebGui for mining connectivity.
Front Panel: LCD display for easy mining configuration.


Also the Viper (Scrypt) Miner (25Mh/s) for maybe $10,000 CAD all said & done.

Power consumption: <= 600w
Contains five stacked Viper boards hashing at 5 Mh/s each or higher
Enclosure : 6u Rack mountable
Self contained unit with Ethernet and USB connection.
Software: Easy to use configurable WebGui for mining connectivity.
Front Panel: LCD display for easy mining configuration.
I thought the purpose of Scrypt mining was so that these ASIC thing can't destroy the value of cryptocurrencies...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mining Rig! sherwind2010 Video Cards 15 July 30, 2014 10:25 AM
What is bitcoin mining??? Lucasrivers Video Cards 3 June 29, 2012 10:43 AM
Asteroid mining Deeival Off Topic 9 April 25, 2012 10:41 AM
Copper block discussion related to oxidation (NOT EK discussion or flaking) Varroa Water Cooling 8 May 31, 2011 06:20 AM