Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 10:10 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
Default Computer Freezes Upon Launching GPU Related Application

I just installed a second GPU to crossfire. When I run any application that requires the use of my GPU (ie - 3dMark, or games), my computer would freeze immediately upon launching the application. There is no error screen, or audio cues. The mouse cursor would also be locked in place. I have looked through my C/Windows/Minidump for a log file, but none has been created for this event. Upon forcing to restart my computer, DOS says that it has recovered from an error and presents me with options to reboot into safe mode.

This is the first time I am crossfiring. I have been using a single GPU for over a year without any problems. I just installed my second GPU this morning, so I presume it is because of this new hardware change. I have done the following:

- Uninstalled and reinstalled my drivers (running Catalyst 13.9)
- Removed my GPU from the motherboard, and plugged it back in.
- Switched the crossfire bridge on the GPUs

My specs:
- i5-3570K at stock 3.5GHz
- XFX 7970 at stock 925GHz
- PowerColor 7970 at stock 925GHz (just bought)
- AsRock Z77 Extreme4
- 16GB DDR3
- Corsair TX750
- Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 10:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,632
Default

Can you run both of them seperately?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 10:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
Default

You mean with Crossfire disabled, but both GPUs in the motherboard? Or with only one GPU attached to mobo?

Either way, let me try both cases.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2013, 10:05 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 3,314

My System Specs

Default

750 watt *should* be enough but it's calling it close. other than that try the above and let us know.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 07:23 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,710
Default

what version of windows 32 or 64 bit

and Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver version ?

other what bios version your at ? see if any thing apply
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 11:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
Default

Turns out my new GPU is faulty. The proper procedure in this case would be to check each card individually before attempting to CrossFire.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2013, 04:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,632
Default

^ That's what I meant, sorry for being vague.

Glad you figured it out though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer freezes in game... fruitbowl33 Troubleshooting 14 July 29, 2012 06:44 PM
Computer freezes on startup Airw4ves Troubleshooting 11 February 6, 2012 11:22 AM
Computer freezes when downloading/loading andynerd Troubleshooting 7 November 24, 2010 08:57 PM
[FS] Not computer related...hope this is ok kruzn4evr Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 19, 2009 06:29 AM