Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2013, 05:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 107
Default HD5850 and BF4

Hey everyone!

Haven't posted here in years! But i need some help.

Been out of the loop for a while, so no idea how good graphics cards are (only thing i know is i put together a computer for my bro with a GTX760 and runs BF4 beautifully maxed out)

I have a bit of a more dated system

Q6600 @ 3.1ghz
8GB Ram 5-5-5-17 DDR2 800 (if i remember correctly)
XFX 680i LT mobo
HD 5850 ATI graphics card (which i cannot overclock, it will start artifacting at any mhz over stock 700/1000)

So, trying to spend as little as possible, what graphics card would i need to get in order to run the game better? Currently 1920x1080/1200 (not sure which one) with every setting on low/off im getting 20-35fps on average.

Should i lower my resolution and increase to medium? I find higher resolution gives me better picture with lower settings. Would overclocking my CPU more be worth it? I have done linX and found at 2.4ghz i did 24gflops, and at 3.1 i get around 27 g flops (not much of an increase)

Any help would be great!

Thanks
__________________
Intel Q6600 3.2ghz
OCZ Vendetta 2
XFX 680i LT
OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800
XFX / EVGA 8800GT 512MB SLI
Cooler Master Cosmos
PC POWER & COOLING 750watt
Seagate 1TB
Seagate 500gb
Seagate 250gb
DVD Rom/Burner

LG 22" Wide
G5/G15/Z-5500 Logitech
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 12:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 107
Default

lots of views and no response, thought i would update.

i got up to 3.6ghz with my CPU but couldn't get it stable, 1.52vcore in bios which translates to 1.47 in cpu-z and 1.42 under load, terrible VDROOP

im stable so far at 3.3ghz 1.43-1.44 under full load in cpu-z, max temperatures are 70 for 2 cores, and 78 for other 2 cores, which i am comfortable with.

thought i could go higher on CPU for more performance but i guess thats it :(
__________________
Intel Q6600 3.2ghz
OCZ Vendetta 2
XFX 680i LT
OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800
XFX / EVGA 8800GT 512MB SLI
Cooler Master Cosmos
PC POWER & COOLING 750watt
Seagate 1TB
Seagate 500gb
Seagate 250gb
DVD Rom/Burner

LG 22" Wide
G5/G15/Z-5500 Logitech
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 01:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Default

depending on your budget....you said your bro's gtx 760 runs beautifully... get that card or a similar amd card

tomshardware.com has a monthly article called "Best Graphics Cards For The Money:" check it out for the amd equivalent...especially the page titled "graphics card performance hierarchy chart"


sincerely
mleunm
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 01:32 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Can you increase the loadline control on that motherboard to eliminate or mitigate Vdroop?

I'm not sure replacing the 5850 would be all that effective as you're most likely going to bottleneck with your Q6600. You can probably already run HIGH settings (if not medium) pretty consistently with your 5850.

You could try seeing what kind of frames you're getting at stock CPU clocks, and what you're getting at overclocked settings. If there is no increase, then your current GPU is likely the bottleneck. If you do see an increase, I would consider the Q6600 to be the bottleneck.

If you're really set on getting a new video card, a good one to get would be the GTX650Ti Boost for about $160. I have one in one of my rigs and it runs BF3 at ultra. It would probably also run BF4 at Ultra, although I haven't tried it at that setting.

Alternatively, an R9 270X would be an excellent choice, too. It's basically a rebadged 7870, and should cost around $200.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2013, 02:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkorb View Post
lots of views and no response, thought i would update.

i got up to 3.6ghz with my CPU but couldn't get it stable, 1.52vcore in bios which translates to 1.47 in cpu-z and 1.42 under load, terrible VDROOP

im stable so far at 3.3ghz 1.43-1.44 under full load in cpu-z, max temperatures are 70 for 2 cores, and 78 for other 2 cores, which i am comfortable with.

thought i could go higher on CPU for more performance but i guess thats it :(
Not sure about the 680i, but on my old 780i if I used a pencil on a few specific spots on the mobo I was able to largely fix vdroop. Hope this helps

Edit - something like this http://www.overclock.net/t/915311/evga-780i-pencil-mod

Last edited by JMCD; November 13, 2013 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2013, 06:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default



Also this video showing a similar performance 5850 ~ 7770 gpu in bf4: BF4: OLD 4-QUAD CORE CPUs able to GAME Benchmark? Battlefield 4 Intel Core 2 Quad AMD Athlon Phenom - YouTube
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still using HD5850...Time to upgrade? Signal2Noise Video Cards 21 March 7, 2012 08:08 AM
ATI Sapphire HD5850 ? butor20022 Price Check 10 October 26, 2011 11:29 AM
[WTB] Reference HD5850 rai_polo Buy/Sell & Trade 2 June 21, 2011 01:19 PM
HD5850 HDMI issues Brando737 Video Cards 3 April 28, 2010 12:05 PM