Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2013, 07:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 96
Default Need Help with hybrid Physx !

I need help setting up (Hacking up) a Physx card (GTX 275) to run along side my main card which is an HD 7850. I am really into Metro LL as I just picked it on on the last Steam sale for $16 bucks and I would love to get the most out of the game and fully realize it the way the developer intended. I have already tried to get this working and spent the better part of today to no avail so it would be much appreciated if someone could walk me through this. thanx.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 08:19 AM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 441

My System Specs

Default

A NVIDIA Card with an AMD card? What sort of heresy is this? I'm sure there's some hack you can do to make it work but officially there isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 08:54 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Some people did get it working when Nvidia first blocked the Ati cards, but I've seen nothing in the past few years, I suspect Nvidias legal team have squashed all attempts at hacking their drivers to make it work again.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 09:05 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Some people did get it working when Nvidia first blocked the Ati cards, but I've seen nothing in the past few years, I suspect Nvidias legal team have squashed all attempts at hacking their drivers to make it work again.
I would not be here asking for help if it was not possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 10:18 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

PM sent
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 10:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,477

My System Specs

Default

You basically want the PhysX to be done by the nVidia card? To activate CUDA processing the nvidia card needs to be the display card first so you can activate the option in Nvidia control Panel. Then you switch monitors, with the image being displayed on the other monitor, run by the Ati card and it should work fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 11:34 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

get current PhysX and ati software
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 11:35 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
A NVIDIA Card with an AMD card? What sort of heresy is this? I'm sure there's some hack you can do to make it work but officially there isn't.

Hybrid PhysX is an name of unofficial configurations, where AMD Radeon and NVIDIA GeForce cards are used simultaneously, AMD GPU for graphics, and NVIDIA GPU - for PhysX.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 11:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
PM sent
Thanx !
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2013, 12:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
You basically want the PhysX to be done by the nVidia card? To activate CUDA processing the nvidia card needs to be the display card first so you can activate the option in Nvidia control Panel. Then you switch monitors, with the image being displayed on the other monitor, run by the Ati card and it should work fine.
Ya that makes sense and is what I did not do so I will give it a try. Does this mean that I need the nvidia card to be in the master PCI E lane to activate the Physx Option ? Then when that is done I swap it back up for the AMD card as the main and nvidia in the secondary PCI E lane ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 6970 + Dedicated GT 430 Hybrid Physx Mini Review NightRain Member Reviews 5 December 27, 2011 07:31 AM
OCZ RevvoDrive 1TB hybrid Dzzope Storage 0 September 6, 2011 11:24 PM
MSI 480 air/water hybrid mkultra Water Cooling 14 June 27, 2010 07:13 AM
ATI PhysX hybrid FreeKnight Video Cards 16 June 6, 2010 03:38 AM
ati-nvidia physx hybrid, how to oc nvidia card? cozmosland Video Cards 2 March 21, 2010 11:24 AM