Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2013, 03:49 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 301
Default

talking about memory clocks on the videocards when i say throttling.

when clocking Gskill Tridant X sticks to 2400mhz make sure your using the timings listed for them should be on the box and the voltage required some times i run my voltage a tad higher even they should be 1.65volts make sure your board is supplying 1.65 volts and set this stuff manually also dont leave it for your motherboard to figure out on its own.

i dont know which trident x sticks you have if you can list the model # we can help you more.

infact when asking for help its generally best to list your entire setup and what its running at.

Some tridenx runs CL10-12-12-31 1.65 Volt and some run CL9-11-11-31 1.65 Volt stock depending on the one you have. but you should be setting those Main timings manually to make sure its getting set correctly.

I never rely on the motherboard to set memory timings properly past 1600mhz .

Use the 2400mhz profile for the sub timings and then manually set the main timings and mem voltage's to make sure your getting the best out of the memory you have.

you can also try to tighten the timings on your mem if you have the CL10 ones.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2013, 05:33 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

packaging code is this : F3-2400C10D-8GTX

CL10-12-12-31 1.65v

thats stock i guess for 2400mhz speed, its from the packaging
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 09:03 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

ever since i overclocked my gpu and cpu/ram my computer wont run 3D Mark 2013 :(
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 09:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
ever since i overclocked my gpu and cpu/ram my computer wont run 3D Mark 2013 :(
You are clocking it too high or not enough voltage. Only overclock one at a time until you get each stable @ specific clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 10:17 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
You are clocking it too high or not enough voltage. Only overclock one at a time until you get each stable @ specific clocks.
which is one of the very first things i said to do lol leave the ram alone and start with the core and corevoltage increases.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 04:48 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

msi afterburner says mV for volts... whats that ? lol i'm used to vcore haha
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 04:52 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
msi afterburner says mV for volts... whats that ? lol i'm used to vcore haha
millivolts.

1150 = 1.15V etc.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:15 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

my msi does not show my actual volts, just a +0 atm or plus 1,2,3,4,etc :P
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:34 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,714

My System Specs

Default

max it out.. there is a silly low cap (+34mv or something) you risk nothing with such a small gain but it could provide enough to stabilize the card.

For ocing everything nvidia since the 6xx released you basically max the voltage, max the target power and then bump the memory and core.. Personally I found the best increases by doing them together.. Some advise the chip first others the memory... try each your self and see what gives the best performance bump.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

It is easy to increase voltage beyond that limit. Just be very careful. Your VRMs will get very hot once you start to crank the voltage. I don't suggest going much higher than 1.2V on air. My EK block has fantastic VRM cooling so I can actually run @ 1.319V 24/7 and it never really gets hot. Been folding for that speed pretty much 24/7 for the past 2 months w/ no problems. Details below on what to do to.


Close MSI Afterburner Beta 15/16.
Open a admin level command prompt.
Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\
type: msiafterburner /ri3,20,99
You get a popup box w/ a bunch of random stuff. It you see the word 'invalid' anywhere then go back to the command prompt and type: msiafterburner /ri4,20,99

Now in Windows Explorer go to C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Profiles\ in there there is a configuration file called something like VEN_10DE&DEV_1004&SUBSYS_104B10DE&REV_A1&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0. Move the config file that starts w/ VEN_10DE to your desktop (moving only required for Win 8). Edit the file.
Under settings add the following and save. Move the file back to the C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Profiles\ if you moved it to the desktop.

[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=3:20h

If you had to use the msiafterburner /ri4,20,99 eariler on from the invalid popup box then you need to add the following instead.

[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=4:20h

Open MSI Afterburner. Your reference GTX780 should now be able to do 1.3V. If it didn't work try deleting all the VEN_10DE configuration files. Then start over.

Thanks to skyn3t and Zawarudo @ OCN for the how to.
[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
have 7970, is it worth it to get GTX780 Phill Video Cards 10 June 18, 2013 02:26 PM
OverClocking! KSiG Video Cards 1 March 2, 2012 07:29 AM
overclocking help and some help :D? zenotix Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 22, 2012 04:01 AM
i7 970 overclocking chrisk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 14 December 21, 2010 08:38 AM
GTX 580 overclocking ToXic Video Cards 6 December 18, 2010 12:09 PM