Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 08:38 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
There's plenty of hacked bios's out there for voltage increases.
Up to a whopping 1.21V. Which is still pathetic. GK110 is capable of so much more with more voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 08:44 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
There's plenty of hacked bios's out there for voltage increases.
Does a hacked bios void your warranty? If it does, I wouldn't even consider it an option.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 09:24 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,736

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Does a hacked bios void your warranty? If it does, I wouldn't even consider it an option.
Thats my thoughts..

I have a pair of reference ones low, I was aware that they produce quite a bit of heat and didn't want 2 cards dumping it in my case, though with how cool the DCII is I would be tempted.

Re the voltage, isn't there an app with they classies / lightning that removes (or at least loosens) the voltage restrictions.. and hey, 1.21v is MUCH better than what's available now.

Damn Nvidia and this restriction.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 09:59 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Other than for higher Benchmark scores don't see any need to push higher voltages for higher OC's, not with my 680's anyhow......I'm sure the 780's even more so.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 10:29 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Other than for higher Benchmark scores don't see any need to push higher voltages for higher OC's, not with my 680's anyhow......I'm sure the 780's even more so.
Not everyone runs 3 cards. So why not get a higher frame rate by increasing clocks more. I have a 50% overclock on my GTX780, that definitely wouldn't be possible w/o increasing voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 11:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 51
Default

You're getting a 50% overclock on a classy I take it?
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 12:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akirez64 View Post
You're getting a 50% overclock on a classy I take it?
No just a Galaxy reference card w/ an EK waterblock.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 12:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Not everyone runs 3 cards. So why not get a higher frame rate by increasing clocks more. I have a 50% overclock on my GTX780, that definitely wouldn't be possible w/o increasing voltage.
Totally understand, but its not all about running 3 Cards, I'm sure 2 Cards would provide better performance minus all that goes into WC...6 to one half a dozen of the other....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 02:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Totally understand, but its not all about running 3 Cards, I'm sure 2 Cards would provide better performance minus all that goes into WC...6 to one half a dozen of the other....
Two GTX770s cost more money than a single watercooled GTX780. Will perform at best 20% better assuming a fully working SLI profile. Plus they will pull a good 50% more power.

When it comes to folding my single GTX780 will do about 50% more than the two GTX770s combined.

Personally I'd rather have a single watercooled (and overvolted) GTX780Ti than two GTX780s on air assuming the 2880 shader rumour is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:16 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Two GTX770s cost more money than a single watercooled GTX780. Will perform at best 20% better assuming a fully working SLI profile. Plus they will pull a good 50% more power.

When it comes to folding my single GTX780 will do about 50% more than the two GTX770s combined.

Personally I'd rather have a single watercooled (and overvolted) GTX780Ti than two GTX780s on air assuming the 2880 shader rumour is correct.

^^^ As I said 6 to 1 half a dozen of the other...!! Personally I'd take 2 cards in SLi vs a single WC Card......just for the performance gain alone....heat with 2 Cards isnt a big deal at all, unlike 3 Cards which VS requires to be enabled to keep things in check......at no point did I mention 770's when I know you're running a single 780....anyhow to each his own...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Announces GeForce Experience Cloud Optimizations Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 10 April 30, 2012 05:31 PM
NVIDIA Announces GeForce Experience Cloud Optimizations SKYMTL Video Cards 1 April 29, 2012 10:10 AM
NVIDIA Announces GeForce GTX 560M at Computex Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 30, 2011 02:02 PM
Thermaltake announces Nvidia Fermi Certified Case - The Element V Technokat Press Releases & Tech News 8 January 3, 2010 10:37 AM
Nvidia Officially Announces SLI Support for Select X58 Motherboards probationer Press Releases & Tech News 3 October 22, 2008 12:56 PM