Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 06:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default Video Card suffered cpu Coolant spill, won't do 3d acceleration anymore?

Heya, this EVGA 650 boost video card was the 2nd card in an SLI configuration (the bottom one) when my Coolit ECO cpu cooler exploded. The upper card was a Gigabyte, which I managed to save after brushing the sizzle marks with isopropyl alcohol, and a rinse with distilled water.

However the EVGA, while can do 2D perfectly fine, will not accelerate games, rather staying at a core speed of 324Mhz and not 1000Mhz+ which it should.

Is the card toast? Or can I do anything else?
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 07:35 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Make sure your SLI is on. If you pulled the cards it turns off. Or if you are like me you forgot to put the bridge back on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 08:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Actually I meant I tested each card as a single card. Gigabyte is fine alone, EVGA is not. I didn't bother to test them in SLI given that the EVGA wouldn't 3d accelerate on it's own.
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 09:03 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,945
Default

leave EVGA out to dry more, if shorting asking for trouble on MB

also check the slots are dry
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2013, 09:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

I had issues awhile back with a 7870 as I cleaned it but sneezed and knocked a bottle of iso alchol on it, dried best I could plugged card back in, the dvi and hdmi ports worked fine, then an hdmi port goes wonky, then the dvi port within another hour, thought I killed my card, put card back in box and only used the one, was in box for ~2weeks, plugged it back in, card works fine. You could try dousing the card in 99% iso alchol and turning a fan on it to fully dry it put it back together and try it, maybe some contacts got bridged and they don't want to be, the iso should clean it out real nice if this is the case, if it helps your welcome :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2013, 12:48 AM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 305
Default

dunking in iso 99% works really well then leave the component in the sun to try for a few days and if its a moisture issue most of the time its gone.

may require a re-paste after.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 02:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the suggestions, only thing I haven't tried is a 99% isopropyl alcohol bath, I'll have to try that next, but I'm resigned to accept that it's toast.
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 03:20 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,764

My System Specs

Default

Depending on the maker of the cooler it may be covered by the AIO warranty?
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 03:23 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Depending on the maker of the cooler it may be covered by the AIO warranty?
Its a Coolit ECO....older model. He's not going to get anything from them for this, sadly...

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2013, 02:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Its a Coolit ECO....older model. He's not going to get anything from them for this, sadly...

-ST
I did submit a claim, and they offered me an ECO II as a replacement (just pay for shipping), but I politely declined, as I'll never use a Coolit product ever again. Coolit isn't even in the market anymore, newegg, ncix and canadacomputers don't even carry it anymore.
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Laptops with AMD graphics, Chrome, and Youtube acceleration problems LHN91 Troubleshooting 5 April 17, 2013 05:04 PM
Disable Windows Live Messenger 2011 Hardware Acceleration geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 4, 2012 08:26 AM
Question about sound card placement in relation to video card. QuiZNo Audio 5 January 18, 2012 01:58 PM
PhysX GPU Acceleration on Radeon HD 3850 MAC Press Releases & Tech News 9 June 27, 2008 08:21 PM