Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 03:59 AM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 327
Default 7970 & 280x cross fire compatible confirmed

source
thanks to Brent_Justice @ hardforum.com

Can R9 280X CrossFire with HD 7970 GHz Edition? Will it Blend?



Question: After reading our AMD Radeon R9 and R7 Series Re-branding Introduction and ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP Video Card Review, you may be asking yourself, if the R9 280X is a re-brand of HD 7970 GHz Edition, can I CrossFire both for a performance improvement? Will it work?

Test: ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP CrossFire with Reference Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition video card. Single CrossFire cable atop the video cards.

Result:
- Catalyst Control Center Confirms CrossFire Enabled
- Catalyst Control Center Confirms a Primary GPU with a Linked GPU under Hardware Info
- GPUz confirms 2 GPUs enabled (CrossFire)
- Crysis 3 confirms "MGPU 2X" mode present in AA settings
- Crysis 3 confirms expected performance increase with two GPUs installed
- Running Stable in Crysis 3, no bugs or crashing

Summary: CrossFire of retail card R9 280X and 7970 GHz Edition reference card = 100% success
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 07:53 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

I don't see how there is a crossfire cable across the cards as the r9 etc have no crossfire connector.

Besides, you could crossfire different cards from AMD anyway AND 7970's are showing up in certain things as 280x's (and the ghz version is really just an oc'd stock one.)
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 09:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

Crossfire (And SLI) doesn't require a bridge in some applications. with PCIe 3, the bus is probably fast and wide enough to not require one even for the high end cards.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 09:30 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 447

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
I don't see how there is a crossfire cable across the cards as the r9 etc have no crossfire connector.

Besides, you could crossfire different cards from AMD anyway AND 7970's are showing up in certain things as 280x's (and the ghz version is really just an oc'd stock one.)
I have not seen one of these cards yet but in the HWC review here I read ". . . the R9 280X uses a pair of physical Crossfire connectors allowing for up to three cards to be used in tandem."

I guess they do have a Crossfire Connector. Any one confirm this?

I wonder if the HD 7970 would have to be a Ghz version or will any HD 7970 work?
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 10:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortkentdad View Post
I have not seen one of these cards yet but in the HWC review here I read ". . . the R9 280X uses a pair of physical Crossfire connectors allowing for up to three cards to be used in tandem."

I guess they do have a Crossfire Connector. Any one confirm this?

I wonder if the HD 7970 would have to be a Ghz version or will any HD 7970 work?
The bridgeless technology does bring up a few questions, especially with connectors on the cards.. Maybe it's just a legacy thing?

Either way I'd imagine it being basically the same under the hood, that any edition would work.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 10:15 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Is it possible that the bridgeless technology is relegated solely to the 290x?

Or maybe it was all just a baseless rumour.

I suppose we'll know more about it when the 290x review comes out.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 01:39 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Is it possible that the bridgeless technology is relegated solely to the 290x?
I'm pretty sure the answer is.... yes. But don't forget about the 290.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 05:26 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Yea.. my bad.. Must have mis-read. Either that or they are just using the same PCB as the 7970?
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 05:35 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Yea.. my bad.. Must have mis-read. Either that or they are just using the same PCB as the 7970?
Some partners will be using the same layout, others aren't. But I bet all 280x's will have CF connectors.

Quote from Sky's review... "After talking to board partners, it seemed that many would be using the same card designs for the R-series as they did for custom HD 7000 products..."
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 08:23 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Continue conversation here: Will it Crossfire? R9 280X & HD 7970 Scaling Tested (Comment Thread)
__________________
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD R9 280X, R9 270X & R7 260X Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 55 November 11, 2013 07:16 PM
Should I buy another graphics card to run in cross-fire or buy a single one? melonpaste Video Cards 18 August 22, 2011 12:38 AM
new to cross fire have a question or two Shadowmeph Video Cards 1 May 5, 2010 11:58 AM
which cheap case to get for a cheap cross fire setup running on air Shadowmeph Cases 22 January 12, 2010 09:03 PM