Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 08:00 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default SLI

Can I SLI a Gtx275 with a 560 ti video card?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 08:08 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Nope.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 11:02 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Possibly as a physX card.. but other than that. :(
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 11:07 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,117

My System Specs

Default

No you can't. SLI has to have the same chip in the graphics card.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 03:56 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

I've never thought AMD/ATi allowing mixed cards was a good idea.

Look at all the trouble they've had with even frame delivery, in beta fix for the first time as of a month ago.

That HAS to be multiplied when you have cards with different output level.

I don't care what the fps counter says, I bet if you ran FCAT on two 7870s or two 7970s with the frame metering drivers it comes out smoother than a 7870 and a 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 04:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

1. The OP is asking about Nvidia cards. Not AMD /ATI.
2. AMD /ATI is not mentioned anywhere in this thread, except by you.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 04:39 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,117

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The RealRollo View Post
I've never thought AMD/ATi allowing mixed cards was a good idea.

Look at all the trouble they've had with even frame delivery, in beta fix for the first time as of a month ago.

That HAS to be multiplied when you have cards with different output level.

I don't care what the fps counter says, I bet if you ran FCAT on two 7870s or two 7970s with the frame metering drivers it comes out smoother than a 7870 and a 7970.


That deserves the first "smilie" I ever used on HWC. Worst answer (or lack thereof) ever.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 05:14 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. The OP is asking about Nvidia cards. Not AMD /ATI.
2. AMD /ATI is not mentioned anywhere in this thread, except by you.
Sorry had to laugh a second:)
but no worries :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 05:16 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Possibly as a physX card.. but other than that. :(
ok should it be used as a physx card and would I notice any speed gains or better visuals in say dcs games ?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2013, 05:55 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. The OP is asking about Nvidia cards. Not AMD /ATI.
2. AMD /ATI is not mentioned anywhere in this thread, except by you.
Pfttt, way to be accusatory.

ATi/AMDs mixed CFx is only the most recognizable example of this bad idea.

When I was in NVIDIA's Focus Group, they sent me a motherboard with some sort of hybrid SLi software long before they briefly brought it to market.

I didn't think it was a good idea then either, because it seemed to me pairing a 10fps motherboard GPU to a 40fps low end GPU could not result in anything good.

I've always thought SLi was best for mid to high end only, and exactly matched cards.

I didn't mention hybrid SLi because it was so short lived no one would remember it.

EDIT: Oh yeah, and my point was "I don't think you would want to SLi the two different gen cards, because of what we're learning now about multi GPU".
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes