Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 08:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 441

My System Specs

Default

I was tempted by the new GTX 760 (~$275) but found several places where it says nVidia Surround really wants you to run three equal monitors. Mine are not (20-24-20).
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 09:49 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 441

My System Specs

Default comparing 7870 to 7970 on 3DMark11 PCmark7

Decided to see what kind of benchmarks people were posting using an A10-5800 and the HD 7870 & 7970 card.

I compared this to the results I'm getting with my HD 6670 (x2) - my Mark7 score was 2372

HD 7870's score 2820 to 4656 (11 samples) Crossfired only had two scores both 4224
HD 7970's score 2848 to 4968 (10 samples) There were no crossfire scores.

The price difference between the MSI HD7970 and the ASUS HD7870 is about $90.00 ($220-310).

But these scores make me wonder if the A10 cannot use the 7970's power? Based on these test there is benefit of the 7970 ain't worth 40% more.

Little more research and I hit the jackpot - a test showing my 4800x900 with HD7870 at the Wide Screen gaming website: AMD Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition & HD 7850 Review

Of course that is on an i7 machine. But shows the difference between smaller 3 screen vs a larger set.

__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 10:17 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

I think that at 5760x1080 or even 4800x900, any single 7970 or 7950 would be the bottleneck, not the APU.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 02:37 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortkentdad View Post

But these scores make me wonder if the A10 cannot use the 7970's power? Based on these test there is benefit of the 7970 ain't worth 40% more.
It looks to me like the 7970 is giving 33% more performance, and at a pretty key place to get it.

Hate to break it to you, but average fps of 32 fps on the 7870 at your resolution isn't even playable- minimum fps will be below 30fps and the game would be a stutter fest.

The 7970 is over 40fps average, so at least there's a chance minimums stay around 30fps and the game is playable.

If that isn't worth $90 to you, you're in the wrong hobby.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 02:55 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, there is a certain price to pay to be able to play in Eyefinity. You do really need a certain class of hardware, and a single 7970 is the bare minimum. SLI configs are usually the best. I would be tempted to recommend crossfire 7870's, but I know that AMD Crossfire Eyefinity profiles are currently a mess.

Best probably to stick with a single 7970. The price difference would be worth it, IMO.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 04:09 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Yeah, there is a certain price to pay to be able to play in Eyefinity. You do really need a certain class of hardware, and a single 7970 is the bare minimum. SLI configs are usually the best. I would be tempted to recommend crossfire 7870's, but I know that AMD Crossfire Eyefinity profiles are currently a mess.

Best probably to stick with a single 7970. The price difference would be worth it, IMO.
I bought two surround rigs, one 50X10 and the other 57X10. They require a LOT of GPU power to run. (Even my current 25X16 panels require a lot more than a 7870 IMO)

You're correct in that the frame metering drivers don't support Eyefinity resolutions now, which makes CFx a non starter.

Basically his only option is the fastest 7970 he can get.

Last edited by The RealRollo; September 20, 2013 at 04:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 04:19 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

If the price of a 7970 is a little much for you, wait a month. They should hopefully drop in price by then...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 05:41 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 441

My System Specs

Default You convinced me

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Yeah, there is a certain price to pay to be able to play in Eyefinity. You do really need a certain class of hardware, and a single 7970 is the bare minimum. SLI configs are usually the best. I would be tempted to recommend crossfire 7870's, but I know that AMD Crossfire Eyefinity profiles are currently a mess.

Best probably to stick with a single 7970. The price difference would be worth it, IMO.


Well I did it - bought a Gigabyte 7970 Gibabyte 7970 Paid $274 after price matching with NCIX - so the price differential was not as great as I thought it would be. Adaptor added $12.28 to the cost.

Did have to go back into the store and ask about the AMD "Never Settle" three free game promo - the salesman had to look into it, after a bit he came out with a card. Should not have had to ask for that.

Now which games should I get - already have Dirt3 and Showdown and there are no other driving games in that offer.

Out of town until Sunday so will have to wait to see how she works. Can't wait to try her out.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 06:31 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Wait a bit...Battlefield 4 is rumoured to be included in that free game bundle. Your codes are good until Xmas anyway. Just wait and see.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 06:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

FYI:


For Surround (2D), you can use different monitors sizes. However, each monitor must display the same resolution - and they will default to the lowest common denominator. Two displays at 1680x1050 and one display at 1920x1200 will all display a 1680x1050 image - stretching that image across the 1920x1200 display. If you utilize different aspect rations (i.e., 2x 1920x1080 and 1x 1920x1200), the image on the "odd display" will either be letterboxed or stretched.
For 3D Vision Surround, each monitor must be of the exact same make and model.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official ATI Eyefinity/nVidia Surround Discussion Thread SnoSalmon Display Units 245 March 3, 2014 08:32 PM
1500$ eyefinity/surround system stolendo New Builds 13 June 25, 2013 02:07 AM
ASUS VN247H - The Ultimate Surround/Eyefinity Monitor? draemn Display Units 2 April 18, 2013 12:02 PM
Question on surround/eyefinity Beastylemon Display Units 7 September 30, 2011 11:35 AM
5.0 surround speakers for PC? Lima Audio 5 September 27, 2010 08:31 AM