Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2013, 09:54 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

^^ I'm impressed with this guy!

Right now I can buy 2-7970's with full cover waterblocks for $779 at NCIX and absolutely slaughter any 780. In every benchmark.

AnandTech | Bench - GPU13

With the new frame pacing drivers the choice is clear. In fact that is the only combo out there that will get me consistent 120fps with eye candy. Yay for the AMD lightboost hack!

I haven't had an ATI card since the 9700 pro, I am no fan boy. I will buy what is the best.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2013, 10:07 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

He certainly knows his caps, eh? Even more 'out there' than AKG's 'Storage Enthusiast', lol!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2013, 10:48 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Red face

Well, sorry to be so "caps oriented", but on the other hand, MSI could be with theirs GPU Reactor accused of the same Adding caps is SURE beneficial thing. The only catch is, that this connector alone:



...have notably higher resistance that the capacitor that get added by it. This is contraproductive. It might be better if they place two another 470uF tantalum caps bellow the chip that trying this nonsense:



But this is not fixable but hardwired by design. Improving this is possible using higher quality caps (caps with lesser ESR, ESL) and adding the missing caps (provided the PCB to these empty places are connected to the voltage for GPU).


As the caps go, anyone can with simple few clicks go on Nichicon website and check out what polymers are offered:
Conductive Polymer Aluminum Solid Electrolytic Capacitors
CF, CJ, CK, CG, CS, CV, CX, LF, LE, LG, LS, LV, LX and the FPCAP series:
NICHICON CORPORATION | Product & Technology | Electric Double Layer Capacitors "FPCAP PRODUCTS CATALOG"
NS, R7, R5, L8, E5, S8, F8, NU, NE, S6 and HT series.

Also anyone can see, that the FP L8 cap is in d8 size made with 330uF 16V, witch is far better that the 270uF 16V unknown capacitor on the Lighting.
And if there fit a d10 cap, then Samxon URL 470uF 16V:

Products ::

That can give the Lighting an edge for overclock

It should be noted, tough, that MSI GTX 780 Lighting hold a WR for example in 3DMark 2001:
NAMEGT`s 3DMark2001 SE score: 172946 marks with a GeForce GTX 780



# Product: MSI GeForce GTX 780 Lightning
# Clockspeed:: 863/1,502 (stock) @ 1,563/1,652MHz

And in the GPU-Z i see a boost clock 1602MHz... what more can be told? Even with unknown caps (presumably - until proven otherwise - custom made Nichicon FPCAP series with enhanced longetivity, the 5K should say 5000h at 105C, while classic polymers are rated for "only" 2000h at 105C... possibly they can made even 10K custom ones, but not proved yet) and Elpida rams (kill with fire!) it can do great results
Higher longetivity caps have worser specs. And even 2000h might sounds low, then with each 10C of operational temp down, the lifetime double. So at 45C the cap for 2000h at 105C is guaranteed to last 14,6 years of nonstop operation and that is IMHO pretty much enought - no reason to skip the specs for 5K lifetime guaranted.

All I saying is, that it could be possible to made the card run even faster using really good caps, perhaps a 1MHz more by filling the blanks, lol.

I'm just the guy that would passionately insist, that the 1MHz more is worth the five bucks for the caps to get soldered there to the blanks. It just did not stop there with me. Next step - find a replacement for these SMD Tantalum 470uF caps (these black bricks) that have lower ESR/ESL ratings, and hence can provide higher ripple current, witch means - higher OC!



Squeetard -
Quote:
two 7970's ... absolutely slaughter any 780. In every benchmark
Even with the bench with invisible tesselated ocean, usually called Crysis? Just kidding. I know it will be faster...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config

Last edited by trodas; September 18, 2013 at 11:11 AM. Reason: typos + more infos
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 08:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I may be hitting a slight CPU bottleneck. I'll have to investigate.
Along those lines, I have a question about this card... When you used the LN2 bios and 300% limit, did you see excessive power use even at the LN2 stock clocks and voltages in MSI AB? I am hitting 300% power limit with just the 100mv addition and clocks of 1240-1267MHz (didn't touch memory) which is causing the card to throttle prematurely. At stock speeds and voltage, it says it uses ~250%...which doesn't seem possible. Note, I do not see this power use translate to actual power use in my KillaWatt either, but there is no doubt it is throttling prematurely. With a 300% limit, I shouldn't be coming close to seeing the clock speeds drop.

Just wondering what you saw on the LN2 bios. Also, did you flash to the new bios they gave out I assume?

Last edited by jas420221; September 19, 2013 at 08:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 08:41 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
At stock speeds and voltage, it says it uses ~250%...which doesn't seem possible.
That must be a serious error in the bios or failure of the measuring components. At stock speed, it should be very close to 100%, or there is something very wrong.
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 09:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Default

At stock speeds with 100% power limit, it sits around 75%. Its only when you adjust the limit things display wonky. So the card is fine, its the limit and that bios that is the problem I think.

It is quite common to have stock clocks on any GPU sit well below the 100% value when testing against non power virus like applications (3DMark Suite for example) or games. In a lot of NVIDIA cards, due to their limited voltage, hitting 100% power use is tough. On AMD cards, I have seen in the 130% with 1.35v used though. At stock, it is well under 100% use.

Last edited by jas420221; September 19, 2013 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2013, 09:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Default

BUMP! Where is skyhtml? I have PM'd him several days ago...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2013, 10:16 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote from jas420221
Quote:
BUMP! Where is skyhtml? I have PM'd him several days ago...
LOL. SKY is in HAWAII...it's my educated guess....AMD R9 card press conference.....tomorrow the 25th, we'll get info

AMD to Host Webcast Live from Hawaii; New Radeon GPU on the Way? | Hardware Canucks

See, he's thinking...what is tastier... the GREEN umbrella one, or the RED umbrella one?




__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; September 24, 2013 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2013, 05:15 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Twice I posted a picture in the above post. It dissapeared both times...sorcery? I've been modded without notification?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2013, 05:25 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Twice I posted a picture in the above post. It dissapeared both times...sorcery? I've been modded without notification?
Nope. Your pictures just don't work. Upload the image to another host like imgur.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI GeForce GTX 770 Lightning Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 11 August 16, 2013 05:18 PM
MSI GTX 680 Lightning Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 19 September 18, 2012 08:59 PM
MSI HD 7970 Lightning 3GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 11 April 22, 2012 02:59 PM
MSI GTX 580 Lightning Xtreme Edition (XE) 3GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 19 May 31, 2011 06:17 PM
MSI GeForce GTX 580 Lightning Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 18 May 15, 2011 01:56 PM