Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2013, 04:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default That annoying gpu usage spikes bug!

So,i have had this problem for 3 years now,when browsing the web,aero suddenly disables itself and i have gpu usage spikes from 0 to 99%... Which kind of software does that,aero bug? Also happened with my old card :( do you have any ideas?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2013, 11:55 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Tell windows to ignore it.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2013, 12:24 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

How do you tell windows to ignore the GPU when it gets loaded to 99%?

bliz, need more details. When was the last time you did a clean install of windows? What other GPU's were you using in the past that did this? Same driver? My guess is the driver, and or improper install. Messed up registry.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2013, 01:00 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

I mean tell windows to ignore the aero thing.. ie "your graphics aren't good enough, turn aero off blah blah"

From what I've seen this has happened with my last 3 Graphics cards but has never actually impacted performance. Tell windows to ignore, unless it is impacting performance.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2013, 01:55 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Sure, but that doesn't fix having the GPU pinned to the wall just surfing the net.

Does the GPU still get loaded up if you manually disable aero?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2013, 04:23 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

It doesn't put load on it (as in the card isn't stressed from what I've seen) in that it will stay at idle voltages and power etc, usage just goes to 100%.
heat doesn't go up (much, couple of deg maybe) and fans don't ramp up either.


If it's actually putting full load on it then yea, try fix, otherwise just set aero to ignore it.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2013, 07:54 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
So,i have had this problem for 3 years now,when browsing the web,aero suddenly disables itself and i have gpu usage spikes from 0 to 99%... Which kind of software does that,aero bug? Also happened with my old card :( do you have any ideas?

Thanks.
what browser do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2013, 03:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Sorry,i'm back, Enaberif, i'm using chrome.

Btw, not the same drivers,it's probably related to chrome or windows...

I'm not at home at the moment (on laptop) but when i'll be back i'll try to disable AERO.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2013, 05:37 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

Google Chrome GPU Acceleration Crashing On You? Here?s the Fix

Use the disable composition flag
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2013, 10:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Ah nice! Thanks i'll try that!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hd 6970 directcuII spikes and stuff everywhere... Zer_Vako Troubleshooting 19 August 17, 2011 03:18 PM
Ping Spikes Every 8 Seconds? Realityshift Networking 10 December 13, 2010 08:36 AM
So annoying Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 27, 2010 06:50 PM
Lag Spikes!!! automatic Networking 3 January 31, 2009 11:53 PM
Constant Ping spikes Phobia Networking 10 July 24, 2008 06:26 PM