Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 09:52 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default What triggers 3D mode on GPU ?

Ever since I've reformatted my computer, every drivers I've used from 12.1 to 13.6.. GPU load is at 75-76% at all times !!

I don't know how to resolve this...

Thanks everyone
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:03 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

I think that the drivers detect a load and then,they turn up the frequency,do you have any background 3d apps or something GPU heavy?

I also know that when i start a game,the gpu core frequency turns itself up before the game actually starts,may be some code that tells the gpu to turn up but i'm not sure...


About your "load" it depends on the core clock,if the core clock is very low, you can have massive load with just a HD video... or windows aero

Wait,i know aero creates some bugs with GPU's,try to disable it?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:05 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,854
Default

aero enabled ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:07 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

where do I go to see if aero is enable ?
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:10 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,854
Default

just right-click on the desktop and choose Personalize. Click the “Window Color and Appearance”

then select basic desktop theme
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:17 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

rebooted and on basic them... nothing.. still at 75%
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:33 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,854
Default

check task manager whats running (Alt-Ctrl-Del)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:37 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:40 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,810

My System Specs

Default

Cannot speak for AMD......but I have periodically in the past (only a few occasions) where my nv GPU's would not downclock when in 2D mode, generally a clean install of Driver would cure this.

If you're running multi monitors that is your culprit.

Aero mode shouldnt trigger 3D mode on your GPU's nor should any background program, you should never have to "dig" through your system to find out why your GPU's are stuck at 3D mode.....try a clean install of Driver.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:40 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

i've done it and tried drivers from 12.1 to 13.6... lol
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 God Mode misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 24, 2012 08:10 PM
Windows 7 God mode badatcards Off Topic 9 September 13, 2010 02:00 PM
God Mode! BT! O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 7, 2010 07:56 PM
Win 7 XP mode folding martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 December 22, 2009 07:57 AM
Win 7 in xp mode Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 November 12, 2009 12:58 PM