Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 04:52 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Lightbulb going from ati HD 4890 to gtx 560

So consideiring this upgrade. A friend of mine sell his gtx 560. I play at 1900 x 1200. Currently I play Smite, Max Payne 3, BF3. Will play Total War Rome II, Crysis 3, Bioshock Infinite. I know the gtx 560 can run them, but I wonder about the resolution I usually game on.

edit; looking forwar to fold on nvidia too!

Ty for your inputs.
__________________
E8400 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | GA-EP45-DS3L | OCZ XTC Platinum Edition PC2-8500 4X2GB | HD 4890 1GB | Corsair Tx750W | Samsung 245BW | WD 1TB Caviar Black | Turtle Beach Ear Force X-52 | Antec Three Hundred

Last edited by Bomberman07; June 19, 2013 at 07:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 08:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Hmm for 10-15% improvement? In my books that's borderline unless you're getting the upgrade for free.
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2...d%5B4930%5D=on

If I were you I'd save money for an upgrade on that CPU instead. A 4890 will keep up at medium-low but you'll start hitting CPU bottlenecks in most newer games.
Check the review here: Crysis 3 Performance Test: Graphics & CPU > CPU Performance - TechSpot
Crysis 3 on medium would eat your dual core :(
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 08:47 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Hmm for 10-15% improvement? In my books that's borderline unless you're getting the upgrade for free.
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2...d%5B4930%5D=on

If I were you I'd save money for an upgrade on that CPU instead. A 4890 will keep up at medium-low but you'll start hitting CPU bottlenecks in most newer games.
Check the review here: Crysis 3 Performance Test: Graphics & CPU > CPU Performance - TechSpot
Crysis 3 on medium would eat your dual core :(
sorry my sig is kinda old. I'm on a I5 3570k now.
__________________
E8400 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | GA-EP45-DS3L | OCZ XTC Platinum Edition PC2-8500 4X2GB | HD 4890 1GB | Corsair Tx750W | Samsung 245BW | WD 1TB Caviar Black | Turtle Beach Ear Force X-52 | Antec Three Hundred
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 09:17 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

How much are you paying for the 560. This factor would greatly determine whether it is a warranted upgrade or not.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2013, 03:28 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,596

My System Specs

Default

Agree with others that it would be cost dependant. I think I recall seeing 560ti in the BST for $100 so I would expect the 560 to be a cheaper than that.

EDIT: Actually there is a 560 for sale for $80 in the BST right now (which I think is fair). If you are getting a great price then the 560 it will be better then your 4890, but otherwise I would jump to something a bit faster for a better improvement in performance (gtx570, or my choice would be a gtx 650Ti boost or 660)...obviously it really depends on your budget.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; June 20, 2013 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2013, 07:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

on those games and a 3570k, I would skip the 560 and go for a real upgrade when funds allow. 660ti or better IMO
Of course if your getting the 560 for a very good price, then there is no reason not to. But it is a stop-gap rather than a replacement.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Need a HD 4890 and up, GVR panzerfan Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 8, 2010 07:35 PM
Toxic HD 4890 or Vapor-X HD 4890 AmuseMe Video Cards 10 July 20, 2009 03:54 AM
2x 275 or 2x 4890 bumfloss Video Cards 5 May 26, 2009 06:32 AM
gtx 285 or 4890 Sharp-Shooter Video Cards 42 April 30, 2009 08:32 PM