Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 07:17 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 492

My System Specs

Default 780 vs Titan and the value of 6GB VRAM

So I've ordered a 120hz 1440 monitor from Overlord. and am eagerly looking forward to it. Right now I'm running a 670 FTW and I'll probably see how it fares before going too crazy, but I've got no illusions that 120HZ and 120 FPS at 1440 just isn't likely to happen on a modded Skyrim, Metro, etc.


Which got me to thinking; a lot of people recommend going SLI 6/780s for the extra power. But with all 780s at 3GB, are you limiting yourself because of the amount of memory the cards have. Even if you SLI it still only considers the GPU to have 3GB. Titans obviously have far more at 6GB, but only marginally better clocks and at a substantial price premium.


So what's people's thoughts on the issue. Is 3GB enough for heavily modded Skyrim and upcoming games (say Witcher 3, Crysis 4, etc)? Or is a Titan a better option for the extra VRAM and the possibility of SLI later? Or is 3GB more than enough for some time yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 07:25 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

3GB has shown to be enough on eyefinity displays using crossfired 7950/7970's. The RAM on the 780 has even higher bandwidth than the AMD models, so I reckon it should be enough for 2560x1440.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 10:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Lawl, 3GB of fast ram... you don't need to worry about it not being enough for single monitor gaming. I was just curious if people would be able to point out non-gaming scenarios where it would matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 11:05 AM
robotninjasrule's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 18
Default

I use 2 7970's with a catleap and overlord PCB. I run the display 1440p @ 120hz, I test a lot I don't think i have ever seen the vram go over 1.6gb. That being said I have never tried modded skyrim or metro. Thing is I found my self turning down or outright turning AA off because I can not notice a difference. Either way you choose I know you will love the 1440p awesomeness!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 11:54 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 492

My System Specs

Default

That's what I kind of suspected. Thanks for the input all. I didn't think that a single monitor setup would need 3, let alone 6GB of VRAM at any point, but I'm not as nuanced in the technical aspects of VRAM as some others.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2013, 12:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,648

My System Specs

Default

6GB may be useful in certain applications. some graphical / image / media programs would use it but it's not gonna be noticeable for every-day use / gaming.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2013, 12:18 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Absolutely correct.....no need for 6GB VRAM for single 1400p or 1600p monitor....3Gb is more than enough......
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bitfenix Prodigy+Titan or Fractal Node 304+Titan wedge22 New Builds 10 May 3, 2013 08:01 PM
Vram gtx 570? frozenskipper Video Cards 4 December 3, 2011 03:25 PM
Removing NB & VRAM heatsink moocow CPU's and Motherboards 0 December 1, 2011 12:13 AM
VRAM issue, is it bad? hal314 Troubleshooting 12 August 28, 2011 07:34 PM
VRAM Useage rjbarker Video Cards 12 June 30, 2011 12:20 PM