Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 14, 2013, 12:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

Default SteamBox / HTPC GPU... Audio Questions

So I'm looking for a video card to round out my 'ultimate entertainment box'. It's use will be for XBMC and Steam gaming on the TV with an XBOX controller. (Anything from Awesomenauts to Tomb Raider) I could sort out on my own what card to pick up on sheer gaming performance. However, where it gets tricky for me is that I want to hook everything up to my receiver using only an HDMI cable. I have zero experience with the audio output through HDMI on any recent GPU's, and I'm hoping for some thoughts on the subject. Games need to be smooth, HD media needs to be flawless and audio needs to be clear.

IF audio through GPU is a terrible idea, then I do have options to output from the onboard. I'd just like to avoid that if possible.

Things to note:
- The display for this system is a 60Hz, 1080p 52" LG Plasma TV.
- Sound will be stereo only. I'm not a fan of surround as it's too flaky.
- I have a GTX670 in my main system that I'd be willing to move to the entertainment unit and replace with a higher end GPU if the 670 is a good choice for this. But I'm not really convinced that 1080p requires a 670.
- I have a 5770 that I pulled off my sale list that I plan on using temporarily until I find a more powerful card

System Specs:
Foxconn h67s ITX MB
i5 2500k w/h80i (Plan to OC maybe to 4Ghz or so)
8GB RAM
250GB SSD
Corsair TX750M PSU
Old June 14, 2013, 01:52 PM
F@H

My System Specs

All you have to do is make sure you're using the on-GPU audio driver and HDMI out from your card. AMD used to be better at it than nVidia a couple years ago, but I think both implement it well now.

And for 1080p a GTX670 is probably a bit overkill. I picked up a HD6870 for this purpose myself, just waiting for it to come.
Old June 14, 2013, 05:33 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs