Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2013, 03:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Do you guys think an AX760 can run 780 SLI or would it be cutting it too close? Since Max TDP is 250W each I should have enough headroom for rest of the system right? Probably going to go X87 with it too.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2013, 03:58 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I have the Evga Boost for my other Classified Board but never did use it (still int packaging), not all Biards by any stretch were having this problem, I went a year with Tri Sli 580's with no ill effects.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2013, 04:22 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,945
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by av3n View Post
Do you guys think an AX760 can run 780 SLI or would it be cutting it too close? Since Max TDP is 250W each I should have enough headroom for rest of the system right? Probably going to go X87 with it too.



will be ok on dual cards for 780's draw 24 amps per card with 63a available on 12v rail
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; May 28, 2013 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2013, 04:39 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 705

My System Specs

Default

I will OC this card. I just read an article on anandtech where they were able to OC their card to crazy numbers. If I can obtain the same then I will run with a single card until I get the NZXT H630 then slap another one in there with waterblocks along with either the Seasonic or Corsair 1200 Platinum certified PSU.

I copied the following stuff directly from anandtech: AnandTech | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Overclocking Results
  1. GeForce GTX 780 Overclocking
  2. Stock Overclocked
  3. Core Clock 863MHz 1063MHz
  4. Boost Clock 902MHz 1102MHz
  5. Max Boost Clock: 1006MHz 1228MHz
  6. Memory Clock 6GHz 7GHz
  7. Max Voltage 1.162v 1.2v

Last edited by hero1; May 28, 2013 at 05:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 10:16 AM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 705

My System Specs

Smile

So I took back my card and ordered the eVGA GTX 780 Hydro Copper version. I made the mistake of choosing ground shipping, unknowinlgy. It should be here by Friday. I will but that bad boy on and see what it can handle but I will for sure be adding another one before the end of this month or early July.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 11:11 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I'm lost in this Thread....thought you already went SLi 780's .........btw..for SLi you certainly dont need a 1.2kW PSU...the only reason I have one is I occasionally grab a 3rd GPU for Benching fun (then inevitably sell it).
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 12:03 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 705

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I'm lost in this Thread....thought you already went SLi 780's .........btw..for SLi you certainly dont need a 1.2kW PSU...the only reason I have one is I occasionally grab a 3rd GPU for Benching fun (then inevitably sell it).
lol. I was going to get a second one but I thought about the cost of GPU water block and such and the price turned out to be the same for a Hydro Copper. So I decided to return my card and I ordered the eVGA GTX 780 Hydro Copper. I want to see how it handles the games and then will probably add another at the end of the month or early July!

And I know I don't need 1.2KW, my AX 850 is good enough for SLI/CF.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes