Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 09:31 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontariotl View Post
z77 workstation from Asus that I have will do x16 x8 x8 @pci-e 3.0
So it does.. wow, there was me thinking it must be an architecture limitation cos I couldn't find a board that would do it. (2x x16 mainly)

gotta say I'm surprised there aren't more boards with the ability to run 2 full speed channels.
I'd buy a board with no other gimmicky stuff that could do this if it cost a bit less (local etailer has them listed as out of stock but at $330...)

$200 sure, I'd pay that, 330.. hell no. May as well go to 2011.
Reply With Quote
  #142 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 09:34 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
So it does.. wow, there was me thinking it must be an architecture limitation cos I couldn't find a board that would do it. (2x x16 mainly)

gotta say I'm surprised there aren't more boards with the ability to run 2 full speed channels.
I'd buy a board with no other gimmicky stuff that could do this if it cost a bit less (local etailer has them listed as out of stock but at $330...)

$200 sure, I'd pay that, 330.. hell no. May as well go to 2011.
You have to find the ones that have the plx chip included. There are a few out there, but yes it does cost more. With the z87 boards out, prices could go down a little or find a used board (probably will still be scarce since haswell isn't something of a great upgrade from IB)
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290X (x2) Sapphire Tri-X 290X 6048x1200/2560x1440 @120Hz| Dell 2709W (left/right) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b 120hz version (center)
OCZ Vertex 3 (x2) Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 8.1 PRO (windows 7 mockup)
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x3) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #143 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 09:40 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Ahhh, thats the one.. Still would go 2011 before spending this much on a z77 board with the plx chip. Bloody silly limitation to have on them.. anyway... moving on
Reply With Quote
  #144 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 10:41 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

2011 (RIVE) - x16 x8 x16

No, my "old" X58 Classified Board "759 Series = original Classy" came with NF200 = x16 x16 x16 ;)

Hey zope...how the heck do you "get by" playing DX11 1440P with a single 670.....hell I got 2 680'sand still have to turn settings down to stay 58 - 70 FPS in many DX11 Titles......you must have a "sweet chip" ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #145 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 12:23 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

it is bouncing off the walls oc with fans at 100% and I don't plkay the latest and greatest by any means.. I have to be selective with what I want turned up to the max, though for some I do play in 1080 when it's just too much.
Reply With Quote
  #146 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 01:29 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Ah I see, I know Titles such as Tomb Raider, FC3 and Crysis 3 I can play "almost" Max @ 1440P, but things like SSAO and high MSAA still will have a big impact on my Rig, as in dropping to 35 FPS....

Would certainly suck having 1440P monitor and have to change Res in game to 1080 though.....time to come on over n join us at the "SLi Club" my friend ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #147 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 03:26 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,903

My System Specs

Default

Indeed, but I'm stuck between getting a second 670 or sell my whole rig and go haswell + dual 770's/780's
Reply With Quote
  #148 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 06:03 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^^ Ah I see, I know Titles such as Tomb Raider, FC3 and Crysis 3 I can play "almost" Max @ 1440P, but things like SSAO and high MSAA still will have a big impact on my Rig, as in dropping to 35 FPS....

Would certainly suck having 1440P monitor and have to change Res in game to 1080 though.....time to come on over n join us at the "SLi Club" my friend ;)
And this is why I really want to upgrade my 580's. Ever since moving to this gorgeous 27" 2560x1440, I have had to turn things down. I love maxing things out and always hate not being able to. But costs are an issue.

As for surround gaming, 3x1080, I would think that the absolute minimum for it would be dual 780's, or even better dual titans because of the 6GB vram.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #149 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 09:58 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ I hear ya...I've been chasing for yrs and likely always will be (unless a guy dumps $2.1K on a couple of titans), perhaps a couple of 780's will do it, but I think you'd still see impacts when enabling high MSAA Tess SSAO etc.......a number of yrs ago I did have Tri SLi 580's and that could Max the games out at that time.....but the power n heat starts to get pretty crazy and 2560 x 1440 is a whole new level of pixel crunching vs 1080.

I've pretty much come to the point where SLi top end Cards should be good enough....if not...then knocking back some of those extreme settings must be done, I cannot stand to play a game where I dip below 50 FPS.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #150 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2013, 05:13 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Yea and I find even games that at stock play fine, like Skyrim, I mod them out with texture packs and end up maxing out the vram on my cards.

Dammit I need to get 4 titans. But of course that damn lotto fairy is being as elusive as ever.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 16 October 13, 2012 01:54 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 2GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 149 May 15, 2012 08:04 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 26 June 24, 2011 09:25 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 82 December 14, 2010 08:50 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 186 December 8, 2010 03:29 AM