Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 11:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default HTPC GPU

Hola,

I'm looking to change the GT240 in my HTPC. I would like to get a card that could run CIV5 and might do so casual folding. It has to fit in my PCV354

Which one should I get to fit my need and stay silent at the same time?

A bit lost in that range

Thanks
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 12:25 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806

My System Specs

Default

I'm using a HD7770 in my HTPC and it works pretty well for lite gaming, a GTX 650 (ti ?) should also do the trick, both are short enough and should fit your case
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 03:12 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,125

My System Specs

Default

What power supply do you have? I would have also suggested a HD7770 or GTX 650Ti. I don't follow folding, but I know AMD GPU can now fold a lot better than before (to what extent I don't know.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 03:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

I have a corsair 650W, so no worried about the power.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2013, 04:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

What about a 1gb 7850? More than enough power to fold and the price is pretty good now because they are being discontinued in favor of the 2gb models.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2013, 06:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 163
Default

Wow, I use a cheap BFG PSU and have a HD 5450 512MB (silent) in my 'HTPC'. You guys are going to give me feelings of inadequacy.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2013, 06:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

Well, I currently have a gt240. I'm upgrading so the GF can play civ5 on the TV, because her laptop is all good for work, but not so much for games. I pulled the trigger on a 650ti, but I will probably have to wait a freakin 5 days for it to ship since I ordered from NCIX.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HTPC or PS3? Chalaska HTPC Systems & Software 9 June 29, 2011 06:21 AM
new htpc Haiden New Builds 6 November 3, 2010 10:17 PM
[FS] HTPC Squeetard Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 29, 2010 05:33 PM
2gb or 4 gb of ram for my htpc? redman HTPC Systems & Software 13 August 28, 2009 07:21 PM
[FS] AMD HTPC FrankyG Buy/Sell & Trade 14 February 8, 2009 05:22 AM