Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2013, 10:14 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Which motherboard do you have?

I ask because yes you can run two monitors off of the card and a third off of the motherboard. I know this because one of the guys I work with is doing that right now and he has the 550ti and for the rest of the system it is a 2600K on a Asus P8Z68-V Pro board. I should say that you will not get great gaming performance from that card but it still does ok for games that are not powerhouses.
I have an MSI board. Not sure which one, but its one of the better ones. Also running a 2600k. I will be able to extend all screens like this?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2013, 01:22 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

I know on that Asus board you just have to have the right settings in the bios and you can use both the card and onboard. This will allow you to have 3 displays. As for yours I would have to know the exact board to be sure. Just run something like CPU-Z and then let me know what model it says you have on the motherboard tab.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2013, 09:18 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
I know on that Asus board you just have to have the right settings in the bios and you can use both the card and onboard. This will allow you to have 3 displays. As for yours I would have to know the exact board to be sure. Just run something like CPU-Z and then let me know what model it says you have on the motherboard tab.
I just looked at this message. The mobo is an Asus P8Z77-M. Am I able to use the onboard for the third minitor?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2013, 11:29 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Any help?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my PSU good for GTX 550ti SLI?? Ov3rTheTop Video Cards 3 September 27, 2012 06:43 PM
How many PPD from a GTX 550Ti great_big_abyss HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 February 24, 2012 07:32 AM
550ti Sli BF3. Pedwar Troubleshooting 4 January 22, 2012 03:29 PM
550Ti Sli? Pedwar Troubleshooting 2 January 19, 2012 09:25 PM
Futureshop has good monitors????? hungh Display Units 10 June 13, 2011 12:52 PM