Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 01:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default First 2560*1440 monitor, is video card the only thing that needs upgrade?

Hello all. I game as a hobby, nothing too serious. I've decided to upgrade my trusty aging Dell 2407 for a U2713HM (its on sale today @580, and I've seen one in action and loved it), meaning I'm adding I think 78% more pixels to process when gaming. My system isn't that old, but Im guessing I'll need to upgrade some of it to keep playing games at good settings with decent FPS.

My first question is general: am I correct to assume that the increase in resolution will tax pretty much only the video card more, while the CPU and the RAM should perform generally as well after such a change in resolution?

My second question is more subjective. My system isn't even 2 years old yet, but I haven't been keeping up with desktop hardware developments much during that time. Would you care to tell me if it would efficient to just upgrade my video card for such a new monitor? Or is it already time to think about upgrading everything because a new card would be bottlenecked by the rest? Thank you.

This is my current system;

Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 ATX LGA1155 Z68 DDR3 1PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 2PCI HDMI SLI SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard

Intel Core i5 2500K Quad Core Unlocked Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB

Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus Direct Touch 4 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 AM3 LGA1366 LGA1155 LGA1156 120MM

G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory

Crucial M4 SSD Micron C400 64GB 2.5IN Solid State Disk Flash Drive SATA3 6Gbps

Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDMI DisplayPort Video Card
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 01:32 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Just try and see how your current card performs for you needs... then decide whether you actually need to... if yes then something like a 7950/GTX670will be a nice upgrade. Other than that your system is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 01:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks, and you're probably right. I'm not sure how extra taxing this increase in new resolution can be, so I'm probably better off testing first.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 01:56 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Keep in mind that with higher pixel density there is less need for AA which can help offset some of increase in GPU requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 02:09 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
Keep in mind that with higher pixel density there is less need for AA which can help offset some of increase in GPU requirement.
As said before, you may find your 6950 to be perfectly acceptable. It is still, after all, a very potent card. If however, you find that framerates are slowing down at your ideal quality settings, then yes, it will be your video card that needs changing. Your CPU is still perfectly current.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 02:25 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

Have you overclocked? If not, do it.

I wanted to buy that monitor, but it doesn't fit on my desk, unless I remove a portion of the desk :(
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 02:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
As said before, you may find your 6950 to be perfectly acceptable. It is still, after all, a very potent card. If however, you find that framerates are slowing down at your ideal quality settings, then yes, it will be your video card that needs changing. Your CPU is still perfectly current.
Perfect, thats exactly what I wanted to know.

And yes, I have slightly OC'd all my hardware. I havent tried pushing the 6950 further than what the super safe CCC overclock allows tho. I think its only 5%. I could try a real overclock, just never needed to yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 03:33 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,961

My System Specs

Default

You will be fine with your CPU and ram. Try your current gpu with aa off and maybe a setting or two turned down. If that's not enough for you then your in for a gpu upgrade(or xfire your 6950 if you can find a used one cheap).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 11:28 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I took the plunge to 2560 x 1440 Res from 1920 x 1200 quite a few yrs ago, you'll find a single GPU is going to take a real hit..big time when jumping up that many pixels, personally I have gone multi GPU's ever since (as in SLi) and with today's DX11 titles I still have to "tweak down" to maintain 60 FPS throughout.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2013, 09:15 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Give it a shot with the old card first. may be just fine. My 590 only has 1.5gb of ram and that is not enough to enable AA at 2560*1440, your 2gb of ram should be.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Cheap card for 3 X 27" WQHD 2560 x 1440 JustinZ Video Cards 1 September 1, 2012 01:41 AM
Keep getting mixed responses - $300 7950 or $400 GTX 670 for gaming at 2560 X 1440. Trax416 Video Cards 22 August 19, 2012 05:38 AM
GTX 480 SLi Benches 2560 x 1440 rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 November 20, 2010 05:08 PM
U2711 2560 x 1440 Text Unreadable Adjustemnts Made. rjbarker Display Units 10 November 16, 2010 07:06 PM