Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 08:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default upgrading from GTX280 (old I know)

Hi.

I built a decent PC about 4-years ago, my current video card seems to be failing with random crashes, so I was looking at upgrading (any excuse), but am very out of touch with the current gear, so please forgive the newbie questions.

I have a GTX280 and was looking at a 500 or 600 series, but have a couple of questions.

1. My MB is the Gigabyte EX58-UD5. I see cards listed as single-slot or dual-slot. My MB will support up to 3 SLI (or crossfire), but I don't know if this is the same as single-slot or dual-slot

2. My MB supports PCie 2.0, some of the new cards are 3.0. Is that a show stopper or will 3.0 work in a 2.0 slot. I couldn't see any BIOS updates that change this.


Other than that, I'm guessing that any 500 or 600 series card would be an upgrade over a 4-year old GTX280, correct? I only run at 1680x1050,and have a good PSU and Antec 300 case which should support a longish card.

Thanks
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 08:53 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

GTX 660 ti should do you fine at that Resolution, all compatible with your gear.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 12:05 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

A 660Ti or a 7870 will fit you well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 09:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks guys. I appreciate the feedback.

How about a GT610? Not as cutting edge, but it should still be a few steps above my old card (and 1/4 the price of a 660).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 09:42 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemoores View Post
Thanks guys. I appreciate the feedback.

How about a GT610? Not as cutting edge, but it should still be a few steps above my old card (and 1/4 the price of a 660).
No, it wouldn't. A GT610 has minimum gaming pedigree. It's a tiny, tiny chip. Your 280 would literally blow it out of the water.

The only thing a GT610 is good at really, is decoding video, and possibly playing older games at low-mid settings.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 09:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

OK, that makes sense. Like I say I've been away for a while and am out of touch with the new generations. I'll plop down for a 660Ti.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 01:04 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,958

My System Specs

Default

pcie 2.0/3.0 doesn't matter for you. Don't worry about single slot/dual slot etc, since you will be running a single cards (its how thick the card is).

For your resolution I would actually recommend a gtx 660 non-ti or hd7870. I would only go more expensive than that if you plan on getting a higher res monitor anytime soon.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; March 5, 2013 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 08:06 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I would agree the GTX-660 would probally be plenty for that resolution .Just check out the review sites of the GTX-660 non TI versions.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading forever Upgrading nerty New Builds 6 May 8, 2010 11:28 PM
RMA GTX280 999Virus999 Video Cards 2 January 3, 2010 06:36 AM
[FS] Two GTX280 1Gb'ers Killswitch Buy/Sell & Trade 41 October 25, 2009 12:56 PM
[WTB] GTX280 CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 6 August 21, 2009 05:16 AM
[WTB] Bfg gtx280 oc Frank Booth Buy/Sell & Trade 12 April 19, 2009 09:59 PM