Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 03:15 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default Driver crash in BF3

7970, 13.1 WHQL drivers. Every benchmark runs fine and stable with low temps, but BF3 crashes randomly at least every half an hour, and after closing it through the task manager windows says "Display driver has crashed and recovered".
Tried wiping and re-installing the drivers, no cigar. Anything else I've missed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 03:40 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Oh don't worry ,it's just AMD...go back to older drivers...Should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 05:18 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Not limited to AMD, I have this issue in some games on my 670. extra voltage seems to have solved it but can't say for 100%

Starting to think it may be a Winblows issue

Last edited by Dzzope; February 23, 2013 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 08:27 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Extra vcore? Will try.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 11:40 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 01:12 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

What was your fix, Dzzope?

I had the same problem with my 680. BF3 would crash to windows after a half hour, and I'd get the same message. I also could not run through Unigine Heaven, as well as 3D Mark 13. I would crash to desktop after a couple of minutes.

I increased the fan speed of my 680, and that worked for a short while, but it started doing it again. My video card is currently out for RMA. I currently have a spare 6950 running in my system, and it's not giving me any problems at all!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2013, 03:21 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Extra voltage appears to work but I can't guarantee it as I've not done near as much gaming as normal since I did it.

I didn't have any trouble with benchmarks or BF3, I got it in WoW and NS2.
I don't play wow now and NS2 is constantly getting updates so as said I can't be sure that was the cure but it seems like convenient timing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2013, 01:57 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Extra voltage fixed it for me as well. Thanks Dzzope!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLi cause crash. frozenskipper Video Cards 4 November 13, 2012 10:43 AM
BIOS Crash ZZLEE Troubleshooting 2 July 6, 2011 10:02 PM
ATI driver crash punk_zappa Troubleshooting 4 March 18, 2011 12:49 PM
GTX 570 crash Hexofire Troubleshooting 6 March 1, 2011 06:19 PM
Weird crash Lpfan4ever HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 February 1, 2011 04:55 AM