Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 05:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Default Bulldozer bottleneck?

Hey guys, wanted to ask a question regarding if my builds got some bottle necking going on. I know the basic principle of bottlenecking, and what it does, but I don't know how to tell if it's happening. My build is:-

AMD FX-8150 (OC'd to 4 GHz via Corsair H80)
8 GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
Asus GTX 660Ti OC Edition
(All the other information is kinda irrelevant for this question.. basically got 2 SSD's and a storage drive.)

My question is, is my 660Ti being held back by the CPU? I know it's different for every game, but say for battlefield 3? If it does bottleneck, how do you remedy the situation, boost the clock even higher?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 06:34 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 529

My System Specs

Default

With a H80 you should be able to get that cpu to 4.4 to 4.5 with decent case airflow. I would do that since 4Ghz was lower then the boost speed. If you disabled the boost to OC you are running slower then it would have jumped in most games. As for bottleneck I would say it depends on your resolution. But if you tune to you hardware you should still easily keep it at 60fps with what you have.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 06:34 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

I don't think the 8150 should be bottlenecking a 660Ti in BF3. BF3 scales well on multi-threaded CPUS, so theoretically Bulldozer should do okay. My question is, why do you think there is a bottleneck? What kind of settings are you running in BF3? What kind of frame rates are you getting?

With all settings on Ultra, and all the anti-aliasing tools turned ON, I think you should be getting about 55-60FPS out of your GTX660Ti, at 1080P. If you're getting significantly less than that, say 40fps average, then yeah, your CPU is bottlenecking. If you're getting close to those framerates (say, 50fps) then I think you're fine.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 06:46 AM
Hooded's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bowmanville,Ontario
Posts: 163

My System Specs

Default

Try using the Geforce Experience to setup your card for gaming.
If still not running smooth go over your OC as stated above.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 05:45 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 643

My System Specs

Default

Check out HWC review for your video card on bf3 here: GTX 660 Ti Roundup (ASUS, EVGA, Gigabyte, Galaxy, MSI)

It shows 33 min, 54 average frame rate on 1080p maxxed settings. This is with an i7 3930K with 1866mhz memory in quad channel.

To me, a very picky and hardcore gamer, this means the 660ti isn't good enough for bf3. FPS needs a close to 60 minimum frame rate. In fact I prefer it when games don't dip below 60 fps as when you run at a solid 60 or higher it feels much more immersive than a solid 30-50. Many will say "you can't tell", and that's just not true. FPS games especially have a much better feel at a solid 60.

So often i hear that a 660ti or a 670 is "all you'll ever need for single monitor 1080p gaming". I disagree.
Even HWC own data shows that a 680gtx has below a 60 fps minimum.

If you're looking for a perfect bf3 experience get a 680gtx or 7970, or greater. Look at HWC own data on minimum/ave frame rates and put them to your own standards.

My trifire unlocked 6950 rig plays bf3 at great frame rates with a stock clock 8150.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2013, 12:25 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Bump the clock. 660ti shouldn't be bottle necked on that chip. If it was a CPU heavy game that only used 1 or 2 cores then I would suspect it more but BF3 (IIRC) will use more.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bottleneck? Goon3d Video Cards 3 February 14, 2013 08:57 AM
Ram possible bottleneck? I_need_a_new_RIG RAM 14 March 29, 2012 05:54 AM
Best GPU with no bottleneck? jagui Video Cards 4 December 25, 2011 11:26 AM
Will my pc bottleneck? Pls help beachbomb94 New Builds 6 December 24, 2011 01:49 AM
Bottleneck - GPU or CPU? mattydies Video Cards 15 July 6, 2009 10:32 PM